Read Students Reviews of Magoosh

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails Aug 26, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
The lesson videos are incredibly helpful and easy to understand. Everything is broken down to such a simplistic level that the thought of breaking 700 becomes attainable. I was able to increase my score by 140 points! And I am incredibly thankful. I watched the lesson videos and then would put what I learned into practice . Thank you for this affordable program that is well made and sticks to its promise of increasing people's scores. I will definitely recommend this program!
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 25, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to understand content in a way that was concise and meaningful. Before starting Magoosh my first practice test was a 530. After completing all the practice problems and watching many videos my score improved by 170 points! Not to mention Magoosh's interface is easy to use and helped to guide my study efforts.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 19, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
I primarily used Math content from GMAT. It was really useful to review the concepts. The exercises were really good, esp the tougher questions. The video explanation helped along the way.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 18, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Great, challenging math problems and very helpful explanations.
Thumbnails Aug 9, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
Value: This course gives you a lot of information and resources for a very low price.
Flexibility: This course was a great fit for my busy schedule. The ability to toggle back and forth between topics or practice question type kept me from feeling bogged down in a specific set of material.
Format: I enjoyed the instructional videos (I watched all of them at least once) and found it particularly useful that they were broken into shorter segments, which allowed me to drop in and out of the course without missing a step.
Depth of Resources: Huge bank of practice problems, massive amount of videos reviewing both specific topics and exam strategy.
Multi-Platform approach: I used the website to study at night and the IPhone apps to study during the day. No matter the time of day or the environment, I was able to study without going out of my way.
Review: The tools for practicing allow you to do as much or as little as you would like, with instant feedback or delayed feedback to simulate test conditions. These tools also allow you to focus topics so that you can concentrate on trouble areas. Further, I found the ability to review answers via video or text and then delve deeper into the topic using the embedded links to be very effective in helping me to understand the proper approach to answering a specific question.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 4, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
(I don't remember my previous math and verbal scores, just remember overall was a 600. Both were less though than what I got this time. I want to say my math percentile was 36 and verbal was like 84 for an overall of 600/64th percentile. This time was 58th for math and 94th for verbal to make overall of 89th percentile.)

It helped tremendously. Very similar problems as GMAT. I learned many new, quick techniques from the videos. The explanations are thorough. I needed something that broke all the different topics down and explained practice problems and Magoosh did exactly that.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 2, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I was a lot more confident about my verbal abilities when I wrote the second time. I was sure I could pull of a V40. But unfortunately could not make that score. I had to increase my speed between questions 27 and 35 since I was behind schedule big time. This probably had an impact on my accuracy. I really liked the short videos Magoosh offered. Kept me engaged throughout the course.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Jul 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice questions and the videos were very helpful.
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? Overall - 610
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? Overall - 610
How did Magoosh help you?
YES - I increased my overall score 100 points. Best money I have ever spent. This program is incredible and worth every penny!!!
Thumbnails Jul 21, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Great video resources! Really convenient to review on the go with the iphone app. Very helpful videos explaining practice problem answers.
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 15, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice problems were AWESOME - the only thing better were the explanations accompanying each problem. Also, the app is great - was able to watch videos during my commute and use it as a break from problem sets
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 2, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is, simply put, the best test prep software I have ever used. By providing clear videos, an excellent blog, and a very clean and easy to use user interface, Magoosh will soon become the golden standard in the industry for GMAT prep. The questions in the prep software also managed to accurately capture the difficulty level of the test questions.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Focus, structure, time
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 28, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I scored a 700 on the GMAT 5 years ago back during my college days. Given that my score was expiring and Ive been wanting to go back to school for an MBA, I knew I had to retake the GMAT. I was dreading the Quantitative section, as I even struggled with it 5 years ago, when concepts like counting, exponents, and integer properties were much less distant than they are today. Given the high demands of my job, I was only able to spend 2.5 weeks studying. Magoosh was integral in helping me relearn all the math concepts required for the Quantitative section, and actually helped me increase myQuant score from a 44 (5 years ago) to a 47; all within 2.5 weeks!! I exclusively worked on the Quantitative side, with the exception of verbal questions worked via practice via tests, and found the video lessons and immense practice question bank invaluable resources.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Jun 27, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the most useful of all the resources I used. I loved the ability to customize my practise and I also really enjoyed the video explanations at the end of each question.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 23, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions were extremely helpful and allowed me to get comfortable with the GMAT timing (especially for the quant section). Specifically, I was impressed by how well written both the quant and verbal questions were. In addition, the video tutorials was great -- they were very engaging and thorough. I was able to hit my target score by solely relying on Magoosh and the OG guide!
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 22, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations to the problems was the most striking feature of the Magoosh experience. The challenging question bank helped me to avoid common traps and improve accuracy.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 16, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I had taken a prep course before my first GMAT. In the 30 days between that test and my 2nd GMAT, I mostly used Magoosh to improve my weak spots. It's clear that Magoosh understands the GMAT test - there were clear lessons and great tips and tricks to give me the foundation I needed to really improve my score. I also loved the flashcard apps for iPhone which I studied on the way to work in the mornings.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 14, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It sured up my math fundamentals!
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh had a great interface that made practicing for the gmat fun and easy
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 9, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I am rubbish at studying, so it was nice to be able to just put the videos on and listen...

I prepared for GMAT over 4 weeks and went from a 660 (first attempt before doing any work) to a 710 (second attempt after a week using Magoosh) to a 740 (GMAT Software after 3 weeks with Magoosh) and then sat the test in my fourth week and scored a 760. On that basis, Magoosh helped take me from 660 to 760 in 4 weeks. I watched every video once through and loved the explanatory videos after every test question.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 May 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me to get started and maintain that focus. The lessons and the question bank were extremely helpful for understanding key concepts and for practice. In combination with the official GMAT practice tests, Magoosh is one of the best resources to prepare for any standardized test!
Double-checks-120x120 May 22, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos!! All the videos are very concise, to the point and are simply fantastic ways to refresh your math and verbal skills. The Verbal videos, especially the ones on Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction, helped me increase my scaled score by 8 points on the test. Thank you Magoosh!
Double-checks-120x120 May 19, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 49
How did Magoosh help you?
The math tutorials were really clear and well thought out, and it is certain that my score would not have been as high without them. I have not studied math for the last 25 years, and had the best time rediscovering the subject material with Magoosh.
I did not use the verbal training materials, so I cannot comment on them.
The practice tests were good.
I liked being able to walk around doing chores with Magoosh on my iPad, tuning out a bit when I knew the materials and zooming in when I knew I needed help.
Double-checks-120x120 May 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Tremendously - Magoosh helped me with improve by at least 100 points. I really liked the overall interface for Magoosh - it was the best that I have found online and I tried multiple platforms, including GMAT Pill and Manhattan Prep. Magoosh helped me improve both my response speed and my understanding of math / verbal concepts.