Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails Aug 1, 2015
Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me mostly on my weaker Verbal side, I went from 31 to 42. The lessons and the analysis of scores from test questions were excellent.
Thumbnails Jul 13, 2015
Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I gained a solid grasp of the fundamental concepts necessary to ace the quant section of the GMAT. The huge question bank available on the premium subscription was an added advantage. After solving all the questions and watching the video explanations for those I failed or flagged, I had a better understanding of the major pitfalls and traps. English is my first language and I regularly read magazines like the Economist, WSJ and Business week so my main focus with the verbal section was practicing the Verbal Flashcards again and again to improve familiarity with the idioms popularly tested.
I tried real hard to fulfill the preconditions for getting a full refund (watching all lessons, solving all the problems, and watching explanation videos for the failed questions). I am happy to say that this is one refund I will be not be getting :D
Thumbnails Jul 7, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
The SC videos are unparalleled. SC went from being a major weakness to a breeze, and having gone through Princeton Review, MGMAT, and the OG, no one has as comprehensive a SC guide as Magoosh. Also, when it came time to really study in the final weeks, out of all the study materials I had available, I found myself turning to Magoosh most frequently.

Thumbnails Jun 28, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 670
How did Magoosh help you?
1. Math: Very good tutorials, all very relevant and some very helpful in terms of quick ways to go about the problem.
2. Verbal: Strategies provided for critical reasoning and reading comprehension were specifically helpful in cracking the code (understanding what the GMAT test setter expects)
3. Practice/test questions: Math questions from Magoosh are very very close to the real GMAT questions. Likewise, the verbal questions were pretty close, but not as dead-on as the math questions.
4. General/Website specific: The ease of use of the website, the tools for sorting/filtering questions by various parameters was especially helpful in revision.
Thumbnails May 24, 2015
Score Improvement: +21 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice exams with immediate feedback
Thumbnails May 3, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helps establish a strong base score. The 3 month study schedule for beginners put me on solid ground. The subscription provides a great review of Quant problems because you can immediately begin implementing the skills and procedures in your GMAT studies.

Unfortunately, the Verbal section will not improve your score in the same manner. The only way to improve your score is to follow and implement the advice within the verbal section. For example, read the New York Times.
Thumbnails Apr 30, 2015
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
The short videos after each practice question are amazing ! They give a brief of essential concepts required to attempt each question and are sufficient in themselves for preparation

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Apr 27, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I study business engineering where I learnt a lot of maths but the techniques I first applied on to GMAT exercises where to complex and straight-forward. The video lesson leant me to improve this.
Thumbnails Apr 20, 2015
Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos for verbal were helpful. My quant skills were already good and I was confident of scoring well. But I needed to improve my verbal score. The SC and CR question sets and explanations are amazing. Made me realize how unprepared I was the last time.
Thumbnails Apr 14, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 39
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped my 3 week crash course by giving detailed videos on every lesson and every question. I am happy with my first time score. I have not studied math in years and I have to say Magoosh saved me from an embarassing Quant score and I am looking forward to seeing what more time with the program can do for my quant and overall score.
Thumbnails Apr 13, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a month to study while working full time, so I used the 1-month study guide in order to stay on track and make sure I did enough studying. The videos were great at helping me get to the core of what I needed to learn for the GMAT, and both the question bank and video explanations of the answers were very helpful to get familiar with the types of questions on the GMAT and how to approach them.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 10, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I could not have been more pleased with Magoosh! The video lessons are great, especially since they allow you to increase the speed so you can knock them out quickly. The timed questions really helped me get my timing down, which had originally been an issue for me. The numerous answer explanations, both video and written, were also extremely helpful. I was really impressed with the quantitative material. Math is not my forte but Magoosh allowed me to score a 47 on quant.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 8, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
the video lessons and video explanations were very helpful. i followed the one month study plan. it wasn't easy to do... but having a study plan and watching video lessons helped a lot! i couldn't have studied on my own with just books. thank you! and Magoosh is considerably cheaper than some of the other popular study methods/prep courses... which is a plus!
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 8, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The Magoosh videos for SC were very helpful. They clear the many grammar concepts that have become hazy.
Overall I had a good experience with Magoosh.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Apr 6, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
The math lessons and solution videos were great. I also loved that there were both text and video solutions to problems so that I could learn the material in multiple ways.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 5, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I just had around 2 months to prepare for the GMAT and found the videos very helpful. The length and the content of these videos is just about perfect. The custom practice sessions along with the explanations were also very useful. Great value-for-money for $99. Strongly recommended for anybody taking the GMAT.
Thumbnails Apr 2, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Two of Magoosh's most helpful points were the idiom booklet in the Resources tab and the thorough explanations that followed every question while I practiced. The idioms were extremely useful in identifying sentence errors, and many of the harder quant questions that showed up on the exam were identical to some of the ones I had practiced on Hard and Very Hard mode.
Overall though, this was my first time taking the GMAT, and I was pretty satisfied with my level of preparation. Other than Magoosh, which I paid for because I liked the price tag, I studied by going through every other free resource available online.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 2, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was great. The lessons were great, the questions were excellent as well (especially the video explanations) and it's a great value for the price. It really helped me get a solid base.
Thumbnails Apr 2, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
The ability to segment questions by difficulty and topic really helped me cut down on practicing irrelevant questions. I loved the video explanations for each of the questions, which in my case totally replaced the need to have a tutor or attend in-person classes. Great stuff! :)
Thumbnails Mar 30, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 650
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were insanely helpful. The video responses to questions were also very interactive and kept me engaged.
Thumbnails Mar 29, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really enabled me to be successful in the GMAT. It is an ideal tool if you thrive in self-paced learning and provides a truly great value for the money. For a fraction of the price of tuturing, it provides:
- Easy to understand explanation videos for each question
- Detailled videos for each topic for more information
- Insightful blog post with many great tips for preparation and test day

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Mar 22, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was awesome!

* The estimated score was surprisingly right on.
* Although I hadn't taken an official test my first practice test scores were in the mid 500s and I ended up getting a 690.
* I loved being able to filter the questions based on difficulty in the "Customize your practice" feature. Towards the final few weeks I pretty much only did the Hard/Very Hard level questions making the easy/medium ones on the test feel like a breeze.
* The videos are so helpful, there are a few that I probably watched a dozen times until the methodology was finally stuck in my head. I am glad that Magoosh has specific videos for each questions instead of simply explaining the general strategy to use.
* For $99 this is a serious no-brainer
Thumbnails Mar 15, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
I watched most of the lesson videos for verbal. They help to clarify the basic concepts. I also find the explanation and comparison to other people's timing helpful.
Double-checks-120x120 Mar 13, 2015
Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh offers an amazing help service. Instructors are not only friendly but also extremely well prepared. They tackle every question by following a deep approach and help you to solve any doubt that you may have.

In addition, lessons are really well designed - they are clear and didactic - and cover the majority of topics that the GMAT will test.

Exercises are very GMAT like. I even consider the reading comprehension and critical reasoning exercises more challenging than those in the actual GMAT, characteristic that contributes to improve better the related skills.

Finally, the blogs in the Magoosh Site are fantastic! In particular, I have found that Mike is one of the best GMAT instructors all arround the web. His blogs about Sentence Correction are impressive, and I think that these materials are one of the cornerstones that helped me to improve in the verbal section.
Double-checks-120x120 Mar 13, 2015
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It provided challenging practice questions, covered all of the topics, and included excellent videos that described the answers to hundreds of practice questions