Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails Sep 28, 2014
Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Easy access to a large pool of practice questions with detailed video explanations.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 28, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
The flexibility of the online format enabled me to effectively study on my own terms.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 27, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I was focused on quantitative. Lessons and practice problems with video explanations were very helpful.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
I focused on verbal for this attempt. Magoosh videos were extremely helpful in helping with the understanding of the basic concepts and how the same needs to be applied to the questions. I wish I had more time to have completed all of the questions on Magoosh. However, the concept understanding was very useful for solving the problems in both OG and the actual exam and I found the Math section very useful in providing additional strategies compared to other courses I had taken.

My advice for anyone would be to focus on the quality of the preparations and not just the quantity. The blogs were helpful to reinforce several concepts so please go through the blogs.

Thanks Magoosh team!!
Thumbnails Sep 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +18 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 33
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos for each practice question helped immensely. I did not have a solid strategy for reviewing every practice question until I used Magoosh.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 25, 2014
Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Huge number of math problems and math explanation videos were really excellent.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 22, 2014
Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
I signed up with Magoosh right after my first GMAT attempt that got me a 710 (48Q, 39V). I felt I could do better and Magoosh played a vital role in getting me there. My second GMAT was 5 weeks away and I was looking to efficiently target my weaknesses (DS, CR) while also practicing with a fresh question database (I had completed the OG). Magoosh helped with all that and more! The dashboard/custom practice interface was great and I absolutely loved the short (2-3 min), to the point, video explanations for every question! At this stage in my prep, I really didn't have the time to sit through long-winded 8-10min videos for each question and this was perfect. I scored a 750 (49Q, 42V) in my second attempt and I am thrilled (and relieved)!
Thanks a lot, team Magoosh, you guys are awesome!!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Sep 20, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
i used mgmat and skimmed through some veritas material, but i would say that magoosh has the best resources to enable test takers to learn and review content, hands down, through videos and articles on pertinent topics.

besides videos being helpful, articles (i think these are available to the public without paying the fee) were very, very helpful as well. especially the ones on breathing and anxiety control by Mike.
Thumbnails Sep 18, 2014
Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 43
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was great in many ways. For one, the short videos were helpful and started from the basics. For another, the strategies improved my score in a very short period of time. I scored 600 in my first practice GMAT. After one month of practice, I achieved a total score of 680 and a perfect AWA score; in two months time, I achieved a total score 700.

Double-checks-120x120 Sep 15, 2014
Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
When I first took the GMAT over a year ago, I attempted to study on my own. While I certainly learned how to solve a lot of different problems at a rapid pace, I felt I was missing the Quantitative basics necessary for GMAT success. Insert Magoosh. What I valued most of all were the easy to understand lessons and examples, and, perhaps most of all, the in-depth analysis and answers on each and every practice question.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 14, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 50
How did Magoosh help you?
I studied using the three-month (admittedly, for me, four-month), math intensive study plan. I have no doubt that following this plan played a huge role in boosting my quantitative score. Through Magoosh I became familiar and comfortable with the material and types of questions I encountered on test day.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesome study material. Spent one week with the material and scored a 720. Great program.
Thumbnails Sep 12, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I started my GMAT journey with the Magoosh GMAT subscription and I can say without doubt that it was worth every penny. I used a lot of other practice materials as well but the practice questions in this course are best of the
lot. In my opinion they're the closest to the real questions in terms of feel and difficulty.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 9, 2014
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The one month schedule but then also- the online tutorials that were also available for iPhone. Practice problems within videos were helpful.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Sep 9, 2014
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The amount of questions, the videos on each question, the statistics broken down into specific areas.
Thumbnails Sep 1, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the basis of my study. It help me a lot with all the exercises and with the lessons. I started from zero and Magoosh took me to the 690. I also included some external practice tests to my study.
I think is very important to study the lessons many times during different periods of time.
I am very happy, thank you Magoosh!
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 29, 2014
Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 58
What was your verbal score? 94
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 96
How did Magoosh help you?
Overview of math and targeted practice through the quizzes of certain sections. Additionally, I loved video explanations of every question!
Thumbnails Aug 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +20 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
The lesson videos are incredibly helpful and easy to understand. Everything is broken down to such a simplistic level that the thought of breaking 700 becomes attainable. I was able to increase my score by 140 points! And I am incredibly thankful. I watched the lesson videos and then would put what I learned into practice . Thank you for this affordable program that is well made and sticks to its promise of increasing people's scores. I will definitely recommend this program!
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 25, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to understand content in a way that was concise and meaningful. Before starting Magoosh my first practice test was a 530. After completing all the practice problems and watching many videos my score improved by 170 points! Not to mention Magoosh's interface is easy to use and helped to guide my study efforts.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 19, 2014
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
I primarily used Math content from GMAT. It was really useful to review the concepts. The exercises were really good, esp the tougher questions. The video explanation helped along the way.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 18, 2014
Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Great, challenging math problems and very helpful explanations.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Aug 9, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
Value: This course gives you a lot of information and resources for a very low price.
Flexibility: This course was a great fit for my busy schedule. The ability to toggle back and forth between topics or practice question type kept me from feeling bogged down in a specific set of material.
Format: I enjoyed the instructional videos (I watched all of them at least once) and found it particularly useful that they were broken into shorter segments, which allowed me to drop in and out of the course without missing a step.
Depth of Resources: Huge bank of practice problems, massive amount of videos reviewing both specific topics and exam strategy.
Multi-Platform approach: I used the website to study at night and the IPhone apps to study during the day. No matter the time of day or the environment, I was able to study without going out of my way.
Review: The tools for practicing allow you to do as much or as little as you would like, with instant feedback or delayed feedback to simulate test conditions. These tools also allow you to focus topics so that you can concentrate on trouble areas. Further, I found the ability to review answers via video or text and then delve deeper into the topic using the embedded links to be very effective in helping me to understand the proper approach to answering a specific question.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 4, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
(I don't remember my previous math and verbal scores, just remember overall was a 600. Both were less though than what I got this time. I want to say my math percentile was 36 and verbal was like 84 for an overall of 600/64th percentile. This time was 58th for math and 94th for verbal to make overall of 89th percentile.)

It helped tremendously. Very similar problems as GMAT. I learned many new, quick techniques from the videos. The explanations are thorough. I needed something that broke all the different topics down and explained practice problems and Magoosh did exactly that.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 2, 2014
Score Improvement: +2 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I was a lot more confident about my verbal abilities when I wrote the second time. I was sure I could pull of a V40. But unfortunately could not make that score. I had to increase my speed between questions 27 and 35 since I was behind schedule big time. This probably had an impact on my accuracy. I really liked the short videos Magoosh offered. Kept me engaged throughout the course.
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice questions and the videos were very helpful.