Read Students Reviews of Magoosh

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double-checks-120x120 Sep 14, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 50
How did Magoosh help you?
I studied using the three-month (admittedly, for me, four-month), math intensive study plan. I have no doubt that following this plan played a huge role in boosting my quantitative score. Through Magoosh I became familiar and comfortable with the material and types of questions I encountered on test day.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesome study material. Spent one week with the material and scored a 720. Great program.
Thumbnails Sep 12, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I started my GMAT journey with the Magoosh GMAT subscription and I can say without doubt that it was worth every penny. I used a lot of other practice materials as well but the practice questions in this course are best of the
lot. In my opinion they're the closest to the real questions in terms of feel and difficulty.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 9, 2014
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The one month schedule but then also- the online tutorials that were also available for iPhone. Practice problems within videos were helpful.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 9, 2014
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The amount of questions, the videos on each question, the statistics broken down into specific areas.
Thumbnails Sep 1, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the basis of my study. It help me a lot with all the exercises and with the lessons. I started from zero and Magoosh took me to the 690. I also included some external practice tests to my study.
I think is very important to study the lessons many times during different periods of time.
I am very happy, thank you Magoosh!
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 29, 2014
Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 58
What was your verbal score? 94
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 96
How did Magoosh help you?
Overview of math and targeted practice through the quizzes of certain sections. Additionally, I loved video explanations of every question!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Aug 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +20 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
The lesson videos are incredibly helpful and easy to understand. Everything is broken down to such a simplistic level that the thought of breaking 700 becomes attainable. I was able to increase my score by 140 points! And I am incredibly thankful. I watched the lesson videos and then would put what I learned into practice . Thank you for this affordable program that is well made and sticks to its promise of increasing people's scores. I will definitely recommend this program!
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 25, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to understand content in a way that was concise and meaningful. Before starting Magoosh my first practice test was a 530. After completing all the practice problems and watching many videos my score improved by 170 points! Not to mention Magoosh's interface is easy to use and helped to guide my study efforts.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 19, 2014
Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
I primarily used Math content from GMAT. It was really useful to review the concepts. The exercises were really good, esp the tougher questions. The video explanation helped along the way.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 18, 2014
Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Great, challenging math problems and very helpful explanations.
Thumbnails Aug 9, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
Value: This course gives you a lot of information and resources for a very low price.
Flexibility: This course was a great fit for my busy schedule. The ability to toggle back and forth between topics or practice question type kept me from feeling bogged down in a specific set of material.
Format: I enjoyed the instructional videos (I watched all of them at least once) and found it particularly useful that they were broken into shorter segments, which allowed me to drop in and out of the course without missing a step.
Depth of Resources: Huge bank of practice problems, massive amount of videos reviewing both specific topics and exam strategy.
Multi-Platform approach: I used the website to study at night and the IPhone apps to study during the day. No matter the time of day or the environment, I was able to study without going out of my way.
Review: The tools for practicing allow you to do as much or as little as you would like, with instant feedback or delayed feedback to simulate test conditions. These tools also allow you to focus topics so that you can concentrate on trouble areas. Further, I found the ability to review answers via video or text and then delve deeper into the topic using the embedded links to be very effective in helping me to understand the proper approach to answering a specific question.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 4, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
(I don't remember my previous math and verbal scores, just remember overall was a 600. Both were less though than what I got this time. I want to say my math percentile was 36 and verbal was like 84 for an overall of 600/64th percentile. This time was 58th for math and 94th for verbal to make overall of 89th percentile.)

It helped tremendously. Very similar problems as GMAT. I learned many new, quick techniques from the videos. The explanations are thorough. I needed something that broke all the different topics down and explained practice problems and Magoosh did exactly that.
Double-checks-120x120 Aug 2, 2014
Score Improvement: +2 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I was a lot more confident about my verbal abilities when I wrote the second time. I was sure I could pull of a V40. But unfortunately could not make that score. I had to increase my speed between questions 27 and 35 since I was behind schedule big time. This probably had an impact on my accuracy. I really liked the short videos Magoosh offered. Kept me engaged throughout the course.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Jul 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice questions and the videos were very helpful.
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? Overall - 610
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? Overall - 610
How did Magoosh help you?
YES - I increased my overall score 100 points. Best money I have ever spent. This program is incredible and worth every penny!!!
Thumbnails Jul 21, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Great video resources! Really convenient to review on the go with the iphone app. Very helpful videos explaining practice problem answers.
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 15, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice problems were AWESOME - the only thing better were the explanations accompanying each problem. Also, the app is great - was able to watch videos during my commute and use it as a break from problem sets
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 2, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is, simply put, the best test prep software I have ever used. By providing clear videos, an excellent blog, and a very clean and easy to use user interface, Magoosh will soon become the golden standard in the industry for GMAT prep. The questions in the prep software also managed to accurately capture the difficulty level of the test questions.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 29, 2014
Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Focus, structure, time
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 28, 2014
Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I scored a 700 on the GMAT 5 years ago back during my college days. Given that my score was expiring and Ive been wanting to go back to school for an MBA, I knew I had to retake the GMAT. I was dreading the Quantitative section, as I even struggled with it 5 years ago, when concepts like counting, exponents, and integer properties were much less distant than they are today. Given the high demands of my job, I was only able to spend 2.5 weeks studying. Magoosh was integral in helping me relearn all the math concepts required for the Quantitative section, and actually helped me increase myQuant score from a 44 (5 years ago) to a 47; all within 2.5 weeks!! I exclusively worked on the Quantitative side, with the exception of verbal questions worked via practice via tests, and found the video lessons and immense practice question bank invaluable resources.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Jun 27, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the most useful of all the resources I used. I loved the ability to customize my practise and I also really enjoyed the video explanations at the end of each question.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 23, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions were extremely helpful and allowed me to get comfortable with the GMAT timing (especially for the quant section). Specifically, I was impressed by how well written both the quant and verbal questions were. In addition, the video tutorials was great -- they were very engaging and thorough. I was able to hit my target score by solely relying on Magoosh and the OG guide!
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 22, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations to the problems was the most striking feature of the Magoosh experience. The challenging question bank helped me to avoid common traps and improve accuracy.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 16, 2014
Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I had taken a prep course before my first GMAT. In the 30 days between that test and my 2nd GMAT, I mostly used Magoosh to improve my weak spots. It's clear that Magoosh understands the GMAT test - there were clear lessons and great tips and tricks to give me the foundation I needed to really improve my score. I also loved the flashcard apps for iPhone which I studied on the way to work in the mornings.