Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

Aug 26, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent video instruction and question bank
Thumbnails

Aug 17, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was a great help. The doubt support was very prompt and I got my answer for any question I was stuck at within 24 hours. The english and math lessons helped me improve my concepts. The topics were narrowly focused helping me improve particular strategies which are really helpful in cracking the exam. Best was the question bank and the explanations to each question. The explanations reinforced the learning on each topic and really helped boost the knowledge of the topic and also helped in learning the best strategy to attempt a question. I also really loved the Magoosh UI/UX. Thanks for all the support.
Thumbnails

Aug 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Apart from the OG, Magoosh was the only reference material I used for Quant and Sentence correction during my 3 months of preparation from scratch. I have been working for 11 years and was miles away from academics. Also, before I started my preparations, I had absolutely zero experience of any CAT, leave aside GMAT. Considering these points, my final score of 700 does speak volumes about the granularity and extensiveness of the Magoosh prep material.
Mike McGarry is possibly the best tutor out there; he makes the whole study process very interesting. Studying longer hours per day was only possible because of his superior teaching skills.
An explanation for each problem in the package was another big plus point. Moreover, for all the OG questions where I was unable to understand the solution, I was able to find Magoosh explanations on YouTube! The quality of explanations was really top notch; it did not leave any room for doubt.
The mobile apps are really good and user friendly; I was able to cover so much reference material while I was on the move. It did make a massive difference.
A special word about Magoosh's support. They truly make you feel special with the detailed and prompt responses. It is simply incredible.
In conclusion, I would highly recommend Magoosh to everyone who want to score well in GMAT. Thank you Magoosh !
Thumbnails

Aug 12, 2016

Score Improvement: +88 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh instructional videos were great. I used Mike’s 3-month plan for Advanced students and was able to go from a 560 on a practice test to a 720 on my first actual GMAT. I used the plan more as a guide than as a strict plan, and did not do the LSAT part or the Nova Math course. I also tailored it to my weaknesses, which I will discuss further below. Best advice I got, to keep in mind throughout studying and the test is to “Think like a GMAT test-writer.” I would also highly recommend NOT studying during your application process. GMAT scores are good for 5 years, I would recommend taking the GMAT about a year out from your application process, that way if you don’t get the score you want you still have some time to take it again before adding stress. The GMAT is a monster by itself, the added stress of the application process (essays, interviews, etc.) will keep you from getting your target score.
Here’s the Bottom Line Up Front to my de-brief:
1. Be DELIBERATE in your approach and learn to fail productively (Read “Talent Code” by Daniel Coyle)
2. The Reading saturation approach is probably best only for non-native English speakers (this relates to point #1)
3. Practice tests are where you make your money and assess weaknesses
4. Do NOT time yourself from the beginning, more learning will occur when you discover answers for YOURSELF than when you watch videos because you gave up at 2 or 3 minutes
5. Don’t be afraid to “warm-up” on test day
Thumbnails

Aug 10, 2016

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Biggest improvement was in my quant score. I was able to get an intuitive understanding of the number properties because of the explanations. With respect to verbal, Magoosh improved my consistency since it gave me a strong framework from which to tackle the questions, most especially in sentence correction.
Thumbnails

Aug 9, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
All the way - Magoosh was fantastic. I knew that, regardless of my score, I would be recommending Magoosh to friends for any standardized test-taking needs. My final score only affirmed my belief. I used Magoosh almost exclusively, supplementing with only a set of seven practice tests from another company and some OG materials (that I probably should have reviewed more than I did).

Your lessons were so approachable. I found myself watching lessons, taking notes, doing problems, then returning a month or two later to repeat the process after taking tests and doing more problems.

Finally - Mike McGarry is an absolute gem. Even though I've never met him in person, he is easily one of my favorite teachers I've had throughout my life. His explanations are so clear and simple that he makes even complex problems approachable and manageable. Between his superb blogs, video lessons, and question answers, I don't know if there is a better standardized test teacher in existence. Magoosh was a great product, but to be clear, Mike was the differentiator. Without Mike, Magoosh would have been good but not great. As much as I love the branding and culture Magoosh seems to have, if Mike were elsewhere, I'd probably follow.

Thank you Mike and thank you Magoosh. Using almost exclusively your program and the OG, I was able to far surpass my GMAT goals!
Thumbnails

Aug 1, 2016

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh team is very supportive. Helpful guidance is provided at each stage. Quant and SC video sessions by Mike and CR and RC sessions by Chris are really great. The question banks are exhaustive; moreover I found that the difficulty level is at par with that of the questions in actual GMAT. Though my quant score dropped a bit in actual exam, I had reached upto Q48 in GMATprep software CAT. I'm satisfied with the improvement that I could make in verbal from 35 to 44. All credit goes to Magoosh team. Last but not the least, I must mention that the IR sessions are just enough for what one needs to know so as to face IR in actual GMAT with confidence. Thanks.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jul 22, 2016

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has helped me in many ways.

1. Unparalleled Support (5-Star)
2. Verbal course content

I am very much satisfied with the course content, number of practise questions, and quality of questions.

I spent most of my time on the Verbal sections. I loved the Idiom Flash Cards Technology.


Thumbnails

Jul 5, 2016

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped me a lot in verbal. The lessons and the explanations of the questions strengthened my understanding of various verbal concepts which I struggled with before. Liked a lot the CR lessons and also SC concepts. Also a big fan of Mike's GMAT blog, helped me approach the exam in a very different (& effective) way.
Thumbnails

Jun 24, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
There was a 10 year gap between my studies. My first practice GMAT test score was 640 and then I only studied with Magoosh for a month and I got 730 in real exam! I didn't even had the time to go through all the material.
Thank you very much!
Thumbnails

Jun 1, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Having a one-stop shop as a central hub for the GMAT preparation was invaluable. The study schedule that you have was the key to keeping myself on track and having step-by-step goals, and the study material itself helped further the effort. The sample questions and explanations are very straightforward, the lessons provide some additional insight into some of the concepts that require some refreshing, and the dashboard tracks your progress along the way. I can honestly say I couldn't have done as well as I did without Magoosh.
Thumbnails

May 26, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
I used magoosh for 95% of my preparation. I got a score way above the stretch goal I had of a 720. I watched all of the math videos (and some of them twice), I did every one of the math problems... which I think my score reflected. On the math side I think the material Magoosh provides is very comprehensive.

On the verbal side I did a majority of the practice problems; I thought that the videos for the sentence correction questions were the most helpful content offered.
Thumbnails

Feb 29, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Most importantly I grew from being very weak at Sentence Correction to being very strong at it after diligently going through all the SC videos and the various kinds of SC problems on Magoosh

Before joining Magoosh, I constantly failed to complete the practice exams on time. However, the time management strategies shared by Mike were brilliant and when I applied these strategies on some more practice tests, I was comfortably able to finish both sections.


Thumbnails

Feb 25, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos are extremely useful and painstakingly evaluate both the approach to answer the question and the steps involved to come to the correct answer. They especially develop an understanding and appreciation for the concepts necessary to succeed on the GMAT.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The best help from Magoosh was the guide to what resources I should purchase as well as the Magoosh subject videos. Though the videos are marketed to be helpful on the go, they served me best when I treated them like class in that I got the most out of them by taking notes, doing problems along with the video, and then doing practice problems afterwards.
Thumbnails

Nov 11, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions in Magoosh are some of the highest quality ones that I encountered during my preparation. There's a good coverage of questions that really help push the score beyond the 700 mark. I also found the video explanations and the posts from Mike very helpful.
Thumbnails

Nov 3, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me alot with verbal. The lessons are great, but video explanations are the real show stoppers. These explanations helped me to understand many concepts that are tested on the GMAT verbal. Special thanks to Mike.
Thumbnails

Oct 11, 2015

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
It really helped me with how to tackle math problems. I realized every problem is solvable in about 2 minutes - the key is to just understand the fundamentals and then figure out which skills to use to get to the answer as quickly as possible.
Thumbnails

Aug 1, 2015

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me mostly on my weaker Verbal side, I went from 31 to 42. The lessons and the analysis of scores from test questions were excellent.
Thumbnails

Jul 13, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I gained a solid grasp of the fundamental concepts necessary to ace the quant section of the GMAT. The huge question bank available on the premium subscription was an added advantage. After solving all the questions and watching the video explanations for those I failed or flagged, I had a better understanding of the major pitfalls and traps. English is my first language and I regularly read magazines like the Economist, WSJ and Business week so my main focus with the verbal section was practicing the Verbal Flashcards again and again to improve familiarity with the idioms popularly tested.
I tried real hard to fulfill the preconditions for getting a full refund (watching all lessons, solving all the problems, and watching explanation videos for the failed questions). I am happy to say that this is one refund I will be not be getting :D
Thumbnails

Jul 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
The SC videos are unparalleled. SC went from being a major weakness to a breeze, and having gone through Princeton Review, MGMAT, and the OG, no one has as comprehensive a SC guide as Magoosh. Also, when it came time to really study in the final weeks, out of all the study materials I had available, I found myself turning to Magoosh most frequently.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jun 28, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 670
How did Magoosh help you?
1. Math: Very good tutorials, all very relevant and some very helpful in terms of quick ways to go about the problem.
2. Verbal: Strategies provided for critical reasoning and reading comprehension were specifically helpful in cracking the code (understanding what the GMAT test setter expects)
3. Practice/test questions: Math questions from Magoosh are very very close to the real GMAT questions. Likewise, the verbal questions were pretty close, but not as dead-on as the math questions.
4. General/Website specific: The ease of use of the website, the tools for sorting/filtering questions by various parameters was especially helpful in revision.
Thumbnails

May 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +21 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice exams with immediate feedback
Thumbnails

May 4, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helps establish a strong base score. The 3 month study schedule for beginners put me on solid ground. The subscription provides a great review of Quant problems because you can immediately begin implementing the skills and procedures in your GMAT studies.

Unfortunately, the Verbal section will not improve your score in the same manner. The only way to improve your score is to follow and implement the advice within the verbal section. For example, read the New York Times.
Thumbnails

Apr 30, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
The short videos after each practice question are amazing ! They give a brief of essential concepts required to attempt each question and are sufficient in themselves for preparation