Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double-checks-120x120 Dec 15, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Being able to practice and review lessons whenever I want made it easy to fit studying into my routine. The practice questions were great, I should have done more.
Double-checks-120x120 Dec 14, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Provided me with a lot of questions to practice with

Double-checks-120x120 Dec 11, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were very helpful to review the material. The questions were also good, I was aiming for 740 and found that it gave me hard and very hard questions mostly, which I think dragged my level up. I did find that the test scores were misleading. A week before the test I scored a 660 and 690 on your tests. At the same time I scored 730 on the GMATPrep test. However I think if your test scoring is harder than the real test then that's ok (better to be surprised upwards).
Double-checks-120x120 Dec 4, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The structure of the 3 month math focused study plan allowed me to remain consistent with my studying, but didn't overwhelm me with too much work. The video lessons and practice probelms were terrific. I am recommending Magoosh to all friends that are planning on taking the GMAT.
Double-checks-120x120 Nov 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh significantly helped to increase my number sense and confidence on the quant section. The videos were instrumental in re-learning old concepts from a GMAT perspective.
Double-checks-120x120 Nov 26, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Loved the ebook on idioms, it allowed me to do quick refresher of tricky ones that I always seemed to forget. The video lessons and explanation were great. Kept everything simple but enough to explain the concepts.
Double-checks-120x120 Nov 23, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was amazing. I listened to the instructional vides on my way into work; I used it to compliment other materials used (MGMAT books); and I used it to learn some of the hard concepts that other materials did not cover well.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Nov 22, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Database of questions is very helpful. Practising with the timer helped in planning for the real exam. Phone app helped save a lot of time by going through the lessons while travelling
Thumbnails Nov 20, 2014
Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
As I already had the basics covered(I had scored a 690 a month ago), I was looking for a test prep which could give me practice questions very similar to GMAT. I really loved the Magoosh questions and their detailed analysis. The questions where very similar to the actual GMAT and solving them gave me a lot of confidence. Even the concept tutorials are wonderful and whenever I had to brush my concepts in some topic I used to refer to the tutorials. The user interface is awesome which adds to the learning experience. I must say it was Magoosh that gave me the final push and the edge to get my score close to 750.
Double-checks-120x120 Nov 14, 2014
Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
A good pool of questions and very clear explanations.
Double-checks-120x120 Nov 12, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was a critical part of my GMAT prep primarily because of the mobile app which contained the video lessons. This enable me to leverage my limited study time and prepare to a level that would have otherwise been unattainable.
Thumbnails Nov 2, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 41
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a great deal. I started from scratch this summer, and being 6+ years out of college it was tough to adapt to the routines of studying and test-taking. I was also never much of a math student (English major in undergrad), so GMAT prep represented my first real math work in 10+ years.

I used the app and worked my way through all the lessons during my commutes to and from work. That took a month or so, maybe longer. Then I started focusing on practice questions, usually doing sets of 10 timed for 20 minutes to try to focus on my timing. I tried to focus on the hard and very hard questions in particular.
Double-checks-120x120 Oct 24, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me get started with my GMAT studying. I had no idea what I was doing, or what to study until I started with Magoosh. I went from 590 in my first practice exam to 720 on the real thing. All in 2 months!
Double-checks-120x120 Oct 17, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
In every way. I like that Magoosh focuses on understanding the principles behind the question, not just on how to "beat" the test. I also like the short video format, and particularly the explanations for every question. The practice test were invaluable.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails Oct 16, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was vital to my review of all the materials. I am 30 years old and haven't brushed many of the topics on the GMAT (particularly quantitative) since high school or early college. Magoosh's instructional videos made learning and/or reviewing the material straightforward and simple.

The video question reviews were similarly helpful. Missing a question posed by one of Magoosh's competitors rewards (punishes?) the student with a wall of text explaining the answer in terms that may or may not be understandable. Magoosh's video approach made every question and answer understandable.
Double-checks-120x120 Oct 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Lots of practice with questions segmented by difficulty and topic.
Double-checks-120x120 Oct 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me dealing with concepts of grammer.
Double-checks-120x120 Oct 1, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Worth every penny
Thumbnails Sep 28, 2014
Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Easy access to a large pool of practice questions with detailed video explanations.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 28, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
The flexibility of the online format enabled me to effectively study on my own terms.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 27, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I was focused on quantitative. Lessons and practice problems with video explanations were very helpful.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Sep 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
I focused on verbal for this attempt. Magoosh videos were extremely helpful in helping with the understanding of the basic concepts and how the same needs to be applied to the questions. I wish I had more time to have completed all of the questions on Magoosh. However, the concept understanding was very useful for solving the problems in both OG and the actual exam and I found the Math section very useful in providing additional strategies compared to other courses I had taken.

My advice for anyone would be to focus on the quality of the preparations and not just the quantity. The blogs were helpful to reinforce several concepts so please go through the blogs.

Thanks Magoosh team!!
Thumbnails Sep 26, 2014
Score Improvement: +18 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 33
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos for each practice question helped immensely. I did not have a solid strategy for reviewing every practice question until I used Magoosh.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 25, 2014
Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Huge number of math problems and math explanation videos were really excellent.
Double-checks-120x120 Sep 22, 2014
Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
I signed up with Magoosh right after my first GMAT attempt that got me a 710 (48Q, 39V). I felt I could do better and Magoosh played a vital role in getting me there. My second GMAT was 5 weeks away and I was looking to efficiently target my weaknesses (DS, CR) while also practicing with a fresh question database (I had completed the OG). Magoosh helped with all that and more! The dashboard/custom practice interface was great and I absolutely loved the short (2-3 min), to the point, video explanations for every question! At this stage in my prep, I really didn't have the time to sit through long-winded 8-10min videos for each question and this was perfect. I scored a 750 (49Q, 42V) in my second attempt and I am thrilled (and relieved)!
Thanks a lot, team Magoosh, you guys are awesome!!