Read Students Reviews of Magoosh

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails Jul 21, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Great video resources! Really convenient to review on the go with the iphone app. Very helpful videos explaining practice problem answers.
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 15, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice problems were AWESOME - the only thing better were the explanations accompanying each problem. Also, the app is great - was able to watch videos during my commute and use it as a break from problem sets
Double-checks-120x120 Jul 2, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is, simply put, the best test prep software I have ever used. By providing clear videos, an excellent blog, and a very clean and easy to use user interface, Magoosh will soon become the golden standard in the industry for GMAT prep. The questions in the prep software also managed to accurately capture the difficulty level of the test questions.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Focus, structure, time
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 28, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I scored a 700 on the GMAT 5 years ago back during my college days. Given that my score was expiring and Ive been wanting to go back to school for an MBA, I knew I had to retake the GMAT. I was dreading the Quantitative section, as I even struggled with it 5 years ago, when concepts like counting, exponents, and integer properties were much less distant than they are today. Given the high demands of my job, I was only able to spend 2.5 weeks studying. Magoosh was integral in helping me relearn all the math concepts required for the Quantitative section, and actually helped me increase myQuant score from a 44 (5 years ago) to a 47; all within 2.5 weeks!! I exclusively worked on the Quantitative side, with the exception of verbal questions worked via practice via tests, and found the video lessons and immense practice question bank invaluable resources.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 27, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the most useful of all the resources I used. I loved the ability to customize my practise and I also really enjoyed the video explanations at the end of each question.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 23, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions were extremely helpful and allowed me to get comfortable with the GMAT timing (especially for the quant section). Specifically, I was impressed by how well written both the quant and verbal questions were. In addition, the video tutorials was great -- they were very engaging and thorough. I was able to hit my target score by solely relying on Magoosh and the OG guide!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Jun 22, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations to the problems was the most striking feature of the Magoosh experience. The challenging question bank helped me to avoid common traps and improve accuracy.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 16, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I had taken a prep course before my first GMAT. In the 30 days between that test and my 2nd GMAT, I mostly used Magoosh to improve my weak spots. It's clear that Magoosh understands the GMAT test - there were clear lessons and great tips and tricks to give me the foundation I needed to really improve my score. I also loved the flashcard apps for iPhone which I studied on the way to work in the mornings.
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 14, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It sured up my math fundamentals!
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh had a great interface that made practicing for the gmat fun and easy
Double-checks-120x120 Jun 9, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I am rubbish at studying, so it was nice to be able to just put the videos on and listen...

I prepared for GMAT over 4 weeks and went from a 660 (first attempt before doing any work) to a 710 (second attempt after a week using Magoosh) to a 740 (GMAT Software after 3 weeks with Magoosh) and then sat the test in my fourth week and scored a 760. On that basis, Magoosh helped take me from 660 to 760 in 4 weeks. I watched every video once through and loved the explanatory videos after every test question.
Double-checks-120x120 May 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me to get started and maintain that focus. The lessons and the question bank were extremely helpful for understanding key concepts and for practice. In combination with the official GMAT practice tests, Magoosh is one of the best resources to prepare for any standardized test!
Double-checks-120x120 May 22, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos!! All the videos are very concise, to the point and are simply fantastic ways to refresh your math and verbal skills. The Verbal videos, especially the ones on Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction, helped me increase my scaled score by 8 points on the test. Thank you Magoosh!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 May 19, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 49
How did Magoosh help you?
The math tutorials were really clear and well thought out, and it is certain that my score would not have been as high without them. I have not studied math for the last 25 years, and had the best time rediscovering the subject material with Magoosh.
I did not use the verbal training materials, so I cannot comment on them.
The practice tests were good.
I liked being able to walk around doing chores with Magoosh on my iPad, tuning out a bit when I knew the materials and zooming in when I knew I needed help.
Double-checks-120x120 May 13, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Tremendously - Magoosh helped me with improve by at least 100 points. I really liked the overall interface for Magoosh - it was the best that I have found online and I tried multiple platforms, including GMAT Pill and Manhattan Prep. Magoosh helped me improve both my response speed and my understanding of math / verbal concepts.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 26, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Pro: Sentence Correction section helped me learn and help reinforce grammar concepts. The question bank was of appropriate difficult level and similar to the real GMAT instead of being overly hard for the sake of being hard.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 20, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I liked the practise quizzes for their content and the freedom to customize questions based on what topic i was studying that day. It enabled me to pick 10-15 questions on the topic i was studying that day and gauge my understanding of the concept. I used to solve more questions on the same topic a few days later to check for retention of concepts. Even as the difficulty level increased, the questions tested understanding of concepts at a fundamental level and this helped me a lot during the actual GMAT.

Thumbnails Apr 12, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Consistent practice made easy. That was really the best way to leverage magoosh. I started the beginners 3 month study plan, and then quickly switched to the advanced lesson plan. I had to adapt it to be for two months, so it was a bit accelerated, however I hit my target score. I found the lessons to be useful and this paired with the MGMAT proved to be very powerful.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 4, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice questions and videos were a great refresher.
Double-checks-120x120 Apr 3, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Clearly, the key to this exam is training and Magoosh made my preparation very efficient.

Magoosh's questions pool is excellent (it feels like each question was selected for a good reason) and the short correction videos are tremendously valuable (you learn by understanding your own mistakes, and this is what these videos help you to do).

Besides, as a French native speaker, I quickly realized that the verbal section was my main weakness. Magoosh's lessons were a "game changer" in this sense; I managed to catch up fairly rapidly on the grammar aspects and score decently at the exam without losing myself in grammar books.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double-checks-120x120 Apr 2, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Good number of practice questions.
Thumbnails Apr 1, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I had read the basics of grammer from other books but I was overwhelmed by the information. Magoosh had all this information organized in short, interesting and informative videos. I watched, re-watched and made notes. This made it very easy for me to review material.
Also, I loved your blog. There is a gold mine of information there. After each test, I would try to find areas that needed focus and read up corresponding sections on the blog. Also, the youtube channel with answers to OG questions was very useful.
Double-checks-120x120 Mar 29, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Verbal videos were very useful
Double-checks-120x120 Mar 25, 2014
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Great practice platform with questions that accurately reflected the difficult of the GMAT. with comprehensive explanation. Provided good functionality and filters to review past performance - especially liked the flagging and the note taking functionality. Indicative scoring indicator was a good morale booster. The videos were immensely helpful.