Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Jun 16, 2014

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I had taken a prep course before my first GMAT. In the 30 days between that test and my 2nd GMAT, I mostly used Magoosh to improve my weak spots. It's clear that Magoosh understands the GMAT test - there were clear lessons and great tips and tricks to give me the foundation I needed to really improve my score. I also loved the flashcard apps for iPhone which I studied on the way to work in the mornings.

Jun 14, 2014

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It sured up my math fundamentals!

Jun 13, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh had a great interface that made practicing for the gmat fun and easy

Jun 9, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I am rubbish at studying, so it was nice to be able to just put the videos on and listen...

I prepared for GMAT over 4 weeks and went from a 660 (first attempt before doing any work) to a 710 (second attempt after a week using Magoosh) to a 740 (GMAT Software after 3 weeks with Magoosh) and then sat the test in my fourth week and scored a 760. On that basis, Magoosh helped take me from 660 to 760 in 4 weeks. I watched every video once through and loved the explanatory videos after every test question.

May 29, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me to get started and maintain that focus. The lessons and the question bank were extremely helpful for understanding key concepts and for practice. In combination with the official GMAT practice tests, Magoosh is one of the best resources to prepare for any standardized test!

May 22, 2014

Score Improvement: +1 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos!! All the videos are very concise, to the point and are simply fantastic ways to refresh your math and verbal skills. The Verbal videos, especially the ones on Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction, helped me increase my scaled score by 8 points on the test. Thank you Magoosh!

May 19, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 49
How did Magoosh help you?
The math tutorials were really clear and well thought out, and it is certain that my score would not have been as high without them. I have not studied math for the last 25 years, and had the best time rediscovering the subject material with Magoosh.
I did not use the verbal training materials, so I cannot comment on them.
The practice tests were good.
I liked being able to walk around doing chores with Magoosh on my iPad, tuning out a bit when I knew the materials and zooming in when I knew I needed help.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

May 13, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Tremendously - Magoosh helped me with improve by at least 100 points. I really liked the overall interface for Magoosh - it was the best that I have found online and I tried multiple platforms, including GMAT Pill and Manhattan Prep. Magoosh helped me improve both my response speed and my understanding of math / verbal concepts.

Apr 26, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Pro: Sentence Correction section helped me learn and help reinforce grammar concepts. The question bank was of appropriate difficult level and similar to the real GMAT instead of being overly hard for the sake of being hard.

Apr 20, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I liked the practise quizzes for their content and the freedom to customize questions based on what topic i was studying that day. It enabled me to pick 10-15 questions on the topic i was studying that day and gauge my understanding of the concept. I used to solve more questions on the same topic a few days later to check for retention of concepts. Even as the difficulty level increased, the questions tested understanding of concepts at a fundamental level and this helped me a lot during the actual GMAT.

Apr 12, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Consistent practice made easy. That was really the best way to leverage magoosh. I started the beginners 3 month study plan, and then quickly switched to the advanced lesson plan. I had to adapt it to be for two months, so it was a bit accelerated, however I hit my target score. I found the lessons to be useful and this paired with the MGMAT proved to be very powerful.

Apr 4, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice questions and videos were a great refresher.

Apr 3, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Clearly, the key to this exam is training and Magoosh made my preparation very efficient.

Magoosh's questions pool is excellent (it feels like each question was selected for a good reason) and the short correction videos are tremendously valuable (you learn by understanding your own mistakes, and this is what these videos help you to do).

Besides, as a French native speaker, I quickly realized that the verbal section was my main weakness. Magoosh's lessons were a "game changer" in this sense; I managed to catch up fairly rapidly on the grammar aspects and score decently at the exam without losing myself in grammar books.

Apr 2, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Good number of practice questions.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Apr 1, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I had read the basics of grammer from other books but I was overwhelmed by the information. Magoosh had all this information organized in short, interesting and informative videos. I watched, re-watched and made notes. This made it very easy for me to review material.
Also, I loved your blog. There is a gold mine of information there. After each test, I would try to find areas that needed focus and read up corresponding sections on the blog. Also, the youtube channel with answers to OG questions was very useful.

Mar 29, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Verbal videos were very useful

Mar 25, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Great practice platform with questions that accurately reflected the difficult of the GMAT. with comprehensive explanation. Provided good functionality and filters to review past performance - especially liked the flagging and the note taking functionality. Indicative scoring indicator was a good morale booster. The videos were immensely helpful.

Mar 24, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
This was the first time I took the actual GMAT. Several weeks ago I took a practice exam via the free software from mba.com. I scored a 580 overall (35 on math, 35 on verbal). Since my verbal scores were in the 74th percentile, and my math scores were only in the 36th percentile, I focused solely on math. Almost all of my studying started just two weeks before my actual GMAT test date. I completed all the Magoosh math lessons and maybe half of the practice questions in about two weeks. On my next practice test (two days before the actual exam), I scored a 700 overall (46 on math and 40 on verbal). I did not complete a single verbal lesson or practice question, but I'm thankful that score increased too!

Mar 9, 2014

Score Improvement: +19 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me grasp the strategies for RC, CR, and DS and also solidified the math concepts needed for the exam. Last I had taken math was over 10 years ago. I enjoyed the video format.

Mar 1, 2014

Score Improvement: +1 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons and answer explanations were great for pointing out and building the most effective skills and knowledge for GMAT success.

Feb 19, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It was really helpful to have questions from Magoosh to solve, as I needed more questions than there are in Official Guide.

There are mind boggling ways to prepare for the GMAT and an equally mind boggling number of books. The three month GMAT schedule really helped me get organised. It also exposed me to resources I didn't know were available.
Magoosh experts are really helpful and helped me with doubts that couldn't be resolved by searching online.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Feb 8, 2014

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were awesome. They were so much better than reading words in a book - especially from someone who is a phonetic learner. I highly recommend the course and there is no better prep course for the money. I paid almost 20x more for a course from another prep company, but scored only 620. After using Magoosh, I was able to increase my verbal score from 27-41 in one month.

Jan 12, 2014

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was terrific! The video answer explanations made it much easier to understand difficult problems. And having the ability to ask questions through the website was also helpful.

Jan 6, 2014

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The math was awesome. Quick and simple review. Videos made things easy.