Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

May 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is a fantastic prep tool!! Before I started using Magoosh, I was practically existential in my despair over the task of preparing for the GMAT. I love the videos- both the lessons and explanation videos that go with the practice questions. I particularly found that Mike's combined sense of humor and aura of optimism to be inspiring. I found myself reading the long passages on reading comprehension questions and thinking, "How interesting. I never knew that before." Mike really inspired me to have the right attitude about taking the GMAT.
Thumbnails

May 25, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Question explanations and videos were super helpful.
Thumbnails

Apr 14, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Yes! The intensive study schedule kept me on track. When I started working to study for the GMAT, my scores were in the high 500s to low 600s--my math skills were definitely under cobwebs and I couldn't hit a consistent verbal score. Even though I focused on the intensive math program, my verbal increased a ton as well. My highest practice score was a 700, but I ended up scoring a 740!
Thumbnails

Apr 8, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
The 3 month Verbal Focused study plan for Non-Native English speaker provided me a road map for my preparation. Special thanks to Mike McGarry for his awesome video explantions of the Verbal Questions as well for his Lesson videos. I will also like to thank Kevin for GMAT Tuesday Videos. I also appreciate the prompt reply from Magoosh help team whenever I asked for help. Thanks Steven, Jonathan, Sarah, Bertrand,Nick and Adam. Apologies if I have missed some name as the list is too long :)

Thumbnails

Mar 20, 2017

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
What I really liked about studying with Magoosh is that I could do so flexibly while still working a full-time job. I appreciated the focus on problem sets, which were easy to review and try again later. I felt like I had watched most of the video lessons, but in fact there were still some that I never viewed. That's a testament to the volume of material available and the ability each test taker has to customize the program to fit their needs.
Thumbnails

Mar 17, 2017

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh gave me the tools necessary to always reformulate the question I was being asked. I think that understanding what is the question really asking is 50% of the resolution of the problem, and the video explanations for the problems were so complete that you could always understand what was the real question and what was the shortest path to get to the answer. This helped me in particular in DS and CR. Moreover, the lessons on SC and in particular parallelisms made me increase my verbal score up to 41, which is pretty high for a non-native english speaker
Thumbnails

Feb 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a lot of problems understanding the Official GMAT Guide's explanation, but the step-by-step breakdown in the videos helped a lot!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Feb 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I only had a month to study for the GMAT and in the first three weeks I was also working, so there wasn't much time to study. Still, by watching all video lessons and did lots of exercises on Magoosh, I managed to get a score of 750 which I definitely wouldn't have gotten without it. Thank you guys so much!
Thumbnails

Feb 6, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped a lot with tips to get the result that I wanted. The problems are harder than the ones from the real test, this helped me a lot!
Thumbnails

Jan 31, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I really loved the in depth analysis of each practice question. This not only helped me in problem areas, but also optimize my strengths as well.
Thumbnails

Jan 10, 2017

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Video explanations of Practice Questions
Thumbnails

Dec 26, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I received late notification about an important MBA opportunity and only had one month to study for the GMAT. My sister recommended Magoosh after her successful GRE prep using the program. I spent almost all of my free time during that month studying with Magoosh and achieved a score within the range I needed on my first (and only) opportunity to take the exam. I would never recommend cramming GMAT prep into one month if it isn't absolutely necessary, but Magoosh helped me make the most out of my limited time. Can't thank you guys enough for putting out such an incredible program! :-)
Thumbnails

Dec 22, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
As a native English speaking Physics graduate, I felt I needed a review of concepts essential to GMAT quant and plenty of practice questions with fully worked answer explanations - and didn't want to pay for a whole load of extra features that I didn't need or want. Magoosh fit the bill perfectly - the lessons and question answer videos were all really clear and well structured. The price point is also very attractive.

I scored a 740 on my first try (an improvement of 50 from the first practice test that I took early on in the GMAT 'experience') and the only resource I used was Magoosh. Thoroughly recommend.
Thumbnails

Dec 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh simply kicks ass. The combination of very well prepared videos and questions with explanations of the solutions just did it for me. I feel like it didn't just get me a great GMAT score, but also actually made me smarter and more suited for the business world. Studying has rarely been so fun!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were extremely helpful (esp Mike McGarry's). It's so much easier to understand concepts/solutions through lecture as opposed to test prep books.
Thumbnails

Dec 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Bang for the buck! It's the one of the best GMAT prep courses out there!
Thumbnails

Dec 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me gain confidence by being able to practice problems very similar to the ones that appear on the real GMAT. The explanations of the answers are extremely useful.
Thumbnails

Dec 6, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really assisted me in improving specific skills, especially Data Sufficiency and Sentence Correction.Being able to focus solely on those really helped me improve my ability to score highly. I took a couple practice exams and was scoring in the 630-680 range. Thanks to Magoosh I could focus my study on my problem areas. The 700 level is notoriously difficult to break through and there is no way that I could have done it without the help oF Magoosh. I was ecstatic when that 710 popped up on my screen once I finished the exam. I am very grateful for all that those at Magoosh have done to make this product what it is. I could not have done it without you.
Thumbnails

Nov 29, 2016

Score Improvement: +19 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
I have always been good with numbers and mental math. My verbal and written english skills have also been really good since school. My first attempt at the GMAT exam was in August 2016. I worked very hard for this exam and I used up all free material that I could find online. I was very confident going into this but ended up scoring just 560. I was very disappointed because i really thought i had prepared well but i realized i still had a long way to go.
I then started reading online blogs about the various online courses that were available in the market. That was the time i came across Magoosh. I signed up for a 1-week free trial and was impressed by the questions and by the free videos that Magoosh offered as part of the free trial. I immediately signed up for the complete verbal and math package.
Since then, I found everything about Magoosh outstanding. I loved Mike's lessons on both math and verbal. Mike has a tremendous voice and he is crystal clear in what he attempts to explain. There is absolutely no ambiguity in any of his lessons. I could put my headphones on and listen to Mike's lessons all day that's how much i fell in love with Magoosh.
Chris's verbal lessons were equally good and informative, especially his lessons on reading comprehension and AWA. But sometimes during his lessons, his voice goes down so much that some of his words are not audible at all. That's one suggestion from me. But otherwise, his lessons are equally awesome.
The magoosh tests were very helpful and the Magoosh question bank was great and had a lot of varied questions that tested all the topics that the GMAT covers.
The fact that all the answers have a video explanation makes understanding of the concepts much easier. I wouldn't have been able to understand the concepts as well if i read through the answers.
Finally, the blogs. Man, the blogs were way too good. They provided numerous examples which helped me immensely. And almost every topic had a dedicated blog. Absolutely awesome.
And all this for just $79.20 (I got a labour day sale !!!). Terrific.
I ended up scoring 720 on my GMAT, a score increase of 160!!!!! I would assume that is a big big increase from my initial score. I couldn't be happier.
I have already recommended Magoosh to a few of my friends, and I will continue to do so.
Magoosh - Thanks a bunch. I hope i get a full-time MBA admit soon, and when i do, I will definitely write to you again. And if i end up doing my MBA in California, i will come and meet you guys at Berkeley :)


Thumbnails

Nov 23, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The math lessons were the largest contributor to my score increase. By breaking them down to smaller and more defined concepts, I was able to use them to ensure I mastered a concept after missing the question type on my practice exams.
Thumbnails

Nov 21, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I took the GMAT once using only the Official Guide to study and with no real plan. I did pretty well on my own, but I aim to attend an elite business school and I knew I could do better. I am a native English speaker, so my Verbal score was excellent, but I struggled with the Quant section. In hopes of honing my math skills I turned to Magoosh. I thought the lessons were excellent. I went through every quant lesson once, and then re-watched the lessons for subjects I struggled most with. I thought the practice questions were exceptionally difficult. Even up to the day before the test I was getting frustrated as I was only scoring around 50% correctly. However, when I sat down to take the GMAT all of the quant questions seemed easy by comparison! It was worth all the frustration. I also didn't think I could get any better on verbal, but lo and behold, I improved there too! I want to sincerely thank the Magoosh team for putting together this excellent, and affordable, teaching tool. I used the lessons and practice questions, as well as the flashcard apps, and I could not be happier. I be your biggest champion in spreading the word going forward.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Nov 11, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons are well structured, coherently communicated and they enable you to understand and apply certain conceptual fineries that the GMAT likes to test.
Through the practice questions and related explanations, I was also able to improve time management and overall mental acuity to better handle the strenuous exam.
The product is a bang for your buck!
Thumbnails

Nov 7, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
Looking back, I can't imagine preparing without Magoosh. It became my study "home base" - the place where I could come whenever I had a free moment to devote to GMAT. Because Magoosh kept track of my progress through the lessons and through the pool of sample problems, it freed up some of my brainpower to focus on learning more.

While it's absolutely necessary to incorporate questions from the Official Guide(s) into your study, questions is essentially all the OG gives you. Most of the OG "answer explanations" have all the user-friendliness of a dense mathematical proof.
Magoosh, on the other hand, walks you through each problem step by step in such a way that after reviewing each missed problem you actually feel smarter, not dumber.

My only caveat (and it's one that Magoosh itself gives to users) would be to take the score estimates with a grain of salt. This applies to both the dashboard and the practice tests. It's notoriously tricky to try to imitate the GMAT's algorithm, and while it makes sense to give students some kind of guidepost, I found it to be inconsistent. I scored a 750 on a GMAT Prep test, then two weeks later scored a 690 with Magoosh. On test day, 3 weeks later, I got a 770.
Definitely make use of their practice tests to get used to the rigors of the whole 4-hour ordeal, but put a lot more faith in your score on the official GMAT prep practice tests.

All in all, I recommend Magoosh wholeheartedly. I don't think you'll find a better one-stop GMAT prep program anywhere, and certainly not in the same price range.

Thumbnails

Nov 2, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesomely :) I haven't used other prep sources but Magoosh is very much worth the money you pay for it. I really improved my rusty skills by solving the problems. The text and video explanations are just awesome. Thank you great Magoosh team!
Thumbnails

Oct 27, 2016

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh premium course is a very streamlined course which helped me to focus on the right spot. The course is very concise and to the point and has no added unnecessary material. The videos are made so as to improve your reasoning skills. The video explanations focus on strategies on timing and pacing and present multiple approaches which helped me improve my overall score.