Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

Jul 16, 2017

Score Improvement: +50 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
I highly recommend Magoosh to anyone who struggles with GMAT math. The videos explain everything you need to know in a way that's easy to understand. The study plans were also very helpful and made it easy to stick to a schedule. I wish I had used Magoosh the first time around and not wasted time trying to study on my own.
Thumbnails

Jun 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos are great. It is very well organized, it is easy to find the info and the help you need in a specific subject .
Thumbnails

Jun 17, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I cannot even begin to describe my gratitude towards Magoosh. I am a Swedish student who is currently on two exchange semesters in Australia. My plan was to take the GMAT twice, once during the first semester (16th of June) and one during the second semester, allowing myself plenty of time and practice to reach the goal I was aiming for.

With the help of the lessons, practice questions and their explanations available at Magoosh, I was able to reach and surpass my goal of 720 on my first attempt. My first practice test (with GMAT Prep) showed 600. After putting in 170 hours of studying over 9 weeks and relentlessly following Magoosh's study plan, I increased my score with 130 points. It wouldn't have been possible without Magoosh.
Thumbnails

Jun 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Great videos with Mike and tons of repetition with quant practice problems. The quant problems I saw on Magoosh were more challenging than 95% of anything I saw on the actual quant section.
Thumbnails

May 29, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were just enough to teach me the concept without drowning me in too much information. The plethora of practice questions let me work on my weaknesses and ensure my strengths stayed sharp. I took an unorthodox approach and didn't use any study tool aside from Magoosh (note even the Official Guide) and was able to go from being embarrassed to take a practice test, to getting a score of over 700.
Thumbnails

May 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is a fantastic prep tool!! Before I started using Magoosh, I was practically existential in my despair over the task of preparing for the GMAT. I love the videos- both the lessons and explanation videos that go with the practice questions. I particularly found that Mike's combined sense of humor and aura of optimism to be inspiring. I found myself reading the long passages on reading comprehension questions and thinking, "How interesting. I never knew that before." Mike really inspired me to have the right attitude about taking the GMAT.
Thumbnails

May 25, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Question explanations and videos were super helpful.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Apr 14, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Yes! The intensive study schedule kept me on track. When I started working to study for the GMAT, my scores were in the high 500s to low 600s--my math skills were definitely under cobwebs and I couldn't hit a consistent verbal score. Even though I focused on the intensive math program, my verbal increased a ton as well. My highest practice score was a 700, but I ended up scoring a 740!
Thumbnails

Apr 8, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
The 3 month Verbal Focused study plan for Non-Native English speaker provided me a road map for my preparation. Special thanks to Mike McGarry for his awesome video explantions of the Verbal Questions as well for his Lesson videos. I will also like to thank Kevin for GMAT Tuesday Videos. I also appreciate the prompt reply from Magoosh help team whenever I asked for help. Thanks Steven, Jonathan, Sarah, Bertrand,Nick and Adam. Apologies if I have missed some name as the list is too long :)

Thumbnails

Mar 20, 2017

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
What I really liked about studying with Magoosh is that I could do so flexibly while still working a full-time job. I appreciated the focus on problem sets, which were easy to review and try again later. I felt like I had watched most of the video lessons, but in fact there were still some that I never viewed. That's a testament to the volume of material available and the ability each test taker has to customize the program to fit their needs.
Thumbnails

Mar 17, 2017

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh gave me the tools necessary to always reformulate the question I was being asked. I think that understanding what is the question really asking is 50% of the resolution of the problem, and the video explanations for the problems were so complete that you could always understand what was the real question and what was the shortest path to get to the answer. This helped me in particular in DS and CR. Moreover, the lessons on SC and in particular parallelisms made me increase my verbal score up to 41, which is pretty high for a non-native english speaker
Thumbnails

Feb 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a lot of problems understanding the Official GMAT Guide's explanation, but the step-by-step breakdown in the videos helped a lot!
Thumbnails

Feb 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I only had a month to study for the GMAT and in the first three weeks I was also working, so there wasn't much time to study. Still, by watching all video lessons and did lots of exercises on Magoosh, I managed to get a score of 750 which I definitely wouldn't have gotten without it. Thank you guys so much!
Thumbnails

Feb 6, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped a lot with tips to get the result that I wanted. The problems are harder than the ones from the real test, this helped me a lot!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Feb 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I really loved the in depth analysis of each practice question. This not only helped me in problem areas, but also optimize my strengths as well.
Thumbnails

Jan 10, 2017

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Video explanations of Practice Questions
Thumbnails

Dec 26, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I received late notification about an important MBA opportunity and only had one month to study for the GMAT. My sister recommended Magoosh after her successful GRE prep using the program. I spent almost all of my free time during that month studying with Magoosh and achieved a score within the range I needed on my first (and only) opportunity to take the exam. I would never recommend cramming GMAT prep into one month if it isn't absolutely necessary, but Magoosh helped me make the most out of my limited time. Can't thank you guys enough for putting out such an incredible program! :-)
Thumbnails

Dec 22, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
As a native English speaking Physics graduate, I felt I needed a review of concepts essential to GMAT quant and plenty of practice questions with fully worked answer explanations - and didn't want to pay for a whole load of extra features that I didn't need or want. Magoosh fit the bill perfectly - the lessons and question answer videos were all really clear and well structured. The price point is also very attractive.

I scored a 740 on my first try (an improvement of 50 from the first practice test that I took early on in the GMAT 'experience') and the only resource I used was Magoosh. Thoroughly recommend.
Thumbnails

Dec 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh simply kicks ass. The combination of very well prepared videos and questions with explanations of the solutions just did it for me. I feel like it didn't just get me a great GMAT score, but also actually made me smarter and more suited for the business world. Studying has rarely been so fun!
Thumbnails

Dec 13, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were extremely helpful (esp Mike McGarry's). It's so much easier to understand concepts/solutions through lecture as opposed to test prep books.
Thumbnails

Dec 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Bang for the buck! It's the one of the best GMAT prep courses out there!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me gain confidence by being able to practice problems very similar to the ones that appear on the real GMAT. The explanations of the answers are extremely useful.
Thumbnails

Dec 6, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really assisted me in improving specific skills, especially Data Sufficiency and Sentence Correction.Being able to focus solely on those really helped me improve my ability to score highly. I took a couple practice exams and was scoring in the 630-680 range. Thanks to Magoosh I could focus my study on my problem areas. The 700 level is notoriously difficult to break through and there is no way that I could have done it without the help oF Magoosh. I was ecstatic when that 710 popped up on my screen once I finished the exam. I am very grateful for all that those at Magoosh have done to make this product what it is. I could not have done it without you.
Thumbnails

Nov 29, 2016

Score Improvement: +19 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
I have always been good with numbers and mental math. My verbal and written english skills have also been really good since school. My first attempt at the GMAT exam was in August 2016. I worked very hard for this exam and I used up all free material that I could find online. I was very confident going into this but ended up scoring just 560. I was very disappointed because i really thought i had prepared well but i realized i still had a long way to go.
I then started reading online blogs about the various online courses that were available in the market. That was the time i came across Magoosh. I signed up for a 1-week free trial and was impressed by the questions and by the free videos that Magoosh offered as part of the free trial. I immediately signed up for the complete verbal and math package.
Since then, I found everything about Magoosh outstanding. I loved Mike's lessons on both math and verbal. Mike has a tremendous voice and he is crystal clear in what he attempts to explain. There is absolutely no ambiguity in any of his lessons. I could put my headphones on and listen to Mike's lessons all day that's how much i fell in love with Magoosh.
Chris's verbal lessons were equally good and informative, especially his lessons on reading comprehension and AWA. But sometimes during his lessons, his voice goes down so much that some of his words are not audible at all. That's one suggestion from me. But otherwise, his lessons are equally awesome.
The magoosh tests were very helpful and the Magoosh question bank was great and had a lot of varied questions that tested all the topics that the GMAT covers.
The fact that all the answers have a video explanation makes understanding of the concepts much easier. I wouldn't have been able to understand the concepts as well if i read through the answers.
Finally, the blogs. Man, the blogs were way too good. They provided numerous examples which helped me immensely. And almost every topic had a dedicated blog. Absolutely awesome.
And all this for just $79.20 (I got a labour day sale !!!). Terrific.
I ended up scoring 720 on my GMAT, a score increase of 160!!!!! I would assume that is a big big increase from my initial score. I couldn't be happier.
I have already recommended Magoosh to a few of my friends, and I will continue to do so.
Magoosh - Thanks a bunch. I hope i get a full-time MBA admit soon, and when i do, I will definitely write to you again. And if i end up doing my MBA in California, i will come and meet you guys at Berkeley :)


Thumbnails

Nov 23, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The math lessons were the largest contributor to my score increase. By breaking them down to smaller and more defined concepts, I was able to use them to ensure I mastered a concept after missing the question type on my practice exams.