Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

Dec 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me gain confidence by being able to practice problems very similar to the ones that appear on the real GMAT. The explanations of the answers are extremely useful.
Thumbnails

Dec 6, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really assisted me in improving specific skills, especially Data Sufficiency and Sentence Correction.Being able to focus solely on those really helped me improve my ability to score highly. I took a couple practice exams and was scoring in the 630-680 range. Thanks to Magoosh I could focus my study on my problem areas. The 700 level is notoriously difficult to break through and there is no way that I could have done it without the help oF Magoosh. I was ecstatic when that 710 popped up on my screen once I finished the exam. I am very grateful for all that those at Magoosh have done to make this product what it is. I could not have done it without you.
Thumbnails

Nov 28, 2016

Score Improvement: +19 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
I have always been good with numbers and mental math. My verbal and written english skills have also been really good since school. My first attempt at the GMAT exam was in August 2016. I worked very hard for this exam and I used up all free material that I could find online. I was very confident going into this but ended up scoring just 560. I was very disappointed because i really thought i had prepared well but i realized i still had a long way to go.
I then started reading online blogs about the various online courses that were available in the market. That was the time i came across Magoosh. I signed up for a 1-week free trial and was impressed by the questions and by the free videos that Magoosh offered as part of the free trial. I immediately signed up for the complete verbal and math package.
Since then, I found everything about Magoosh outstanding. I loved Mike's lessons on both math and verbal. Mike has a tremendous voice and he is crystal clear in what he attempts to explain. There is absolutely no ambiguity in any of his lessons. I could put my headphones on and listen to Mike's lessons all day that's how much i fell in love with Magoosh.
Chris's verbal lessons were equally good and informative, especially his lessons on reading comprehension and AWA. But sometimes during his lessons, his voice goes down so much that some of his words are not audible at all. That's one suggestion from me. But otherwise, his lessons are equally awesome.
The magoosh tests were very helpful and the Magoosh question bank was great and had a lot of varied questions that tested all the topics that the GMAT covers.
The fact that all the answers have a video explanation makes understanding of the concepts much easier. I wouldn't have been able to understand the concepts as well if i read through the answers.
Finally, the blogs. Man, the blogs were way too good. They provided numerous examples which helped me immensely. And almost every topic had a dedicated blog. Absolutely awesome.
And all this for just $79.20 (I got a labour day sale !!!). Terrific.
I ended up scoring 720 on my GMAT, a score increase of 160!!!!! I would assume that is a big big increase from my initial score. I couldn't be happier.
I have already recommended Magoosh to a few of my friends, and I will continue to do so.
Magoosh - Thanks a bunch. I hope i get a full-time MBA admit soon, and when i do, I will definitely write to you again. And if i end up doing my MBA in California, i will come and meet you guys at Berkeley :)


Thumbnails

Nov 23, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The math lessons were the largest contributor to my score increase. By breaking them down to smaller and more defined concepts, I was able to use them to ensure I mastered a concept after missing the question type on my practice exams.
Thumbnails

Nov 21, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I took the GMAT once using only the Official Guide to study and with no real plan. I did pretty well on my own, but I aim to attend an elite business school and I knew I could do better. I am a native English speaker, so my Verbal score was excellent, but I struggled with the Quant section. In hopes of honing my math skills I turned to Magoosh. I thought the lessons were excellent. I went through every quant lesson once, and then re-watched the lessons for subjects I struggled most with. I thought the practice questions were exceptionally difficult. Even up to the day before the test I was getting frustrated as I was only scoring around 50% correctly. However, when I sat down to take the GMAT all of the quant questions seemed easy by comparison! It was worth all the frustration. I also didn't think I could get any better on verbal, but lo and behold, I improved there too! I want to sincerely thank the Magoosh team for putting together this excellent, and affordable, teaching tool. I used the lessons and practice questions, as well as the flashcard apps, and I could not be happier. I be your biggest champion in spreading the word going forward.
Thumbnails

Nov 11, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons are well structured, coherently communicated and they enable you to understand and apply certain conceptual fineries that the GMAT likes to test.
Through the practice questions and related explanations, I was also able to improve time management and overall mental acuity to better handle the strenuous exam.
The product is a bang for your buck!
Thumbnails

Nov 7, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
Looking back, I can't imagine preparing without Magoosh. It became my study "home base" - the place where I could come whenever I had a free moment to devote to GMAT. Because Magoosh kept track of my progress through the lessons and through the pool of sample problems, it freed up some of my brainpower to focus on learning more.

While it's absolutely necessary to incorporate questions from the Official Guide(s) into your study, questions is essentially all the OG gives you. Most of the OG "answer explanations" have all the user-friendliness of a dense mathematical proof.
Magoosh, on the other hand, walks you through each problem step by step in such a way that after reviewing each missed problem you actually feel smarter, not dumber.

My only caveat (and it's one that Magoosh itself gives to users) would be to take the score estimates with a grain of salt. This applies to both the dashboard and the practice tests. It's notoriously tricky to try to imitate the GMAT's algorithm, and while it makes sense to give students some kind of guidepost, I found it to be inconsistent. I scored a 750 on a GMAT Prep test, then two weeks later scored a 690 with Magoosh. On test day, 3 weeks later, I got a 770.
Definitely make use of their practice tests to get used to the rigors of the whole 4-hour ordeal, but put a lot more faith in your score on the official GMAT prep practice tests.

All in all, I recommend Magoosh wholeheartedly. I don't think you'll find a better one-stop GMAT prep program anywhere, and certainly not in the same price range.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Nov 2, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesomely :) I haven't used other prep sources but Magoosh is very much worth the money you pay for it. I really improved my rusty skills by solving the problems. The text and video explanations are just awesome. Thank you great Magoosh team!
Thumbnails

Oct 27, 2016

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh premium course is a very streamlined course which helped me to focus on the right spot. The course is very concise and to the point and has no added unnecessary material. The videos are made so as to improve your reasoning skills. The video explanations focus on strategies on timing and pacing and present multiple approaches which helped me improve my overall score.
Thumbnails

Oct 27, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped in improving my timing on the quant section as well as helped in providing some vital strategies to approach questions in counting and inequalities
Thumbnails

Oct 14, 2016

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The first time I took the test, I didn't really understand what I was getting into. I only used the OG and thought I would be fine. I'm kicking myself that I didn't use Magoosh the first time! I really needed help with the math portion. I went through all the lesson videos and a couple hundred practice problems. I really appreciated the app to watch videos. Second time through, I had a much better understanding of the concepts, rather than merely trying to apply formulas. Mike McGarry's voice is etched into my brain!
Thumbnails

Oct 1, 2016

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
It threw at me the hardest questions possible, making the actual test seem like a cakewalk.
Thumbnails

Oct 1, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me give a good start to my preparation for the GMAT. The video lessons are quite effective at driving home the concepts. The idiom flashcards were a real boon to polish my sentence correction skills. Overall, Magoosh definitely helped me boost my score by a good deal.
Thumbnails

Sep 15, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
By giving me quality study materials at affordable prices.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Sep 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Amazing videos to teach concepts. When I started out, I felt a bit overwhelmed given how much previous materials for both verbal and math I was required to pick back up, but I think the videos and explanations for each question nailed the concept and how it was being used/ demonstrated in a problem really well.

For a while, I wasn't sure if taking class in-person would have benefited me more as so many people have taken, for example, the MGMAT classes, which are so popular, but after about 3 weeks of using Magoosh, I was pretty sold that I didn't need to shell out the additional ~$900 for their course.
Thumbnails

Sep 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I think Magoosh was far and away the most helpful tool I used in preparing for the GMAT. The most significant single takeaway I got from using Magoosh was that the GMAT isn't a math test and a grammar test, but more a test of reasoning and pattern recognition. I relied less on mastery of math and grammar concepts and more on remembering techniques. Another thing that helped, especially on the verbal section, was being able to identify traps and confidently say why I believed certain answer choices were wrong.

Magoosh was also helpful because of the sheer number of available questions. I answered around 700 questions and watched explanation videos for over a third of them. That's a lot of practice! I felt quite ready by the time it was ready to take the exam.
Thumbnails

Sep 1, 2016

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I followed the 3-month Quant-heavy study guide, and it was a huge help in keeping me organized and on track. I watched all of the math videos, most of them twice, and prioritized practice problems. About 2/3 of the way through I stopped some of the off-platform math work and really focused on the math I felt like I hadn't mastered and test-taking strategy. Being able to see exactly what I got wrong when I did miss questions allowed me to learn from my mistakes more quickly.
Thumbnails

Aug 25, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent video instruction and question bank
Thumbnails

Aug 17, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was a great help. The doubt support was very prompt and I got my answer for any question I was stuck at within 24 hours. The english and math lessons helped me improve my concepts. The topics were narrowly focused helping me improve particular strategies which are really helpful in cracking the exam. Best was the question bank and the explanations to each question. The explanations reinforced the learning on each topic and really helped boost the knowledge of the topic and also helped in learning the best strategy to attempt a question. I also really loved the Magoosh UI/UX. Thanks for all the support.
Thumbnails

Aug 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Apart from the OG, Magoosh was the only reference material I used for Quant and Sentence correction during my 3 months of preparation from scratch. I have been working for 11 years and was miles away from academics. Also, before I started my preparations, I had absolutely zero experience of any CAT, leave aside GMAT. Considering these points, my final score of 700 does speak volumes about the granularity and extensiveness of the Magoosh prep material.
Mike McGarry is possibly the best tutor out there; he makes the whole study process very interesting. Studying longer hours per day was only possible because of his superior teaching skills.
An explanation for each problem in the package was another big plus point. Moreover, for all the OG questions where I was unable to understand the solution, I was able to find Magoosh explanations on YouTube! The quality of explanations was really top notch; it did not leave any room for doubt.
The mobile apps are really good and user friendly; I was able to cover so much reference material while I was on the move. It did make a massive difference.
A special word about Magoosh's support. They truly make you feel special with the detailed and prompt responses. It is simply incredible.
In conclusion, I would highly recommend Magoosh to everyone who want to score well in GMAT. Thank you Magoosh !
Thumbnails

Aug 11, 2016

Score Improvement: +88 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh instructional videos were great. I used Mike’s 3-month plan for Advanced students and was able to go from a 560 on a practice test to a 720 on my first actual GMAT. I used the plan more as a guide than as a strict plan, and did not do the LSAT part or the Nova Math course. I also tailored it to my weaknesses, which I will discuss further below. Best advice I got, to keep in mind throughout studying and the test is to “Think like a GMAT test-writer.” I would also highly recommend NOT studying during your application process. GMAT scores are good for 5 years, I would recommend taking the GMAT about a year out from your application process, that way if you don’t get the score you want you still have some time to take it again before adding stress. The GMAT is a monster by itself, the added stress of the application process (essays, interviews, etc.) will keep you from getting your target score.
Here’s the Bottom Line Up Front to my de-brief:
1. Be DELIBERATE in your approach and learn to fail productively (Read “Talent Code” by Daniel Coyle)
2. The Reading saturation approach is probably best only for non-native English speakers (this relates to point #1)
3. Practice tests are where you make your money and assess weaknesses
4. Do NOT time yourself from the beginning, more learning will occur when you discover answers for YOURSELF than when you watch videos because you gave up at 2 or 3 minutes
5. Don’t be afraid to “warm-up” on test day

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Aug 9, 2016

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Biggest improvement was in my quant score. I was able to get an intuitive understanding of the number properties because of the explanations. With respect to verbal, Magoosh improved my consistency since it gave me a strong framework from which to tackle the questions, most especially in sentence correction.
Thumbnails

Aug 8, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
All the way - Magoosh was fantastic. I knew that, regardless of my score, I would be recommending Magoosh to friends for any standardized test-taking needs. My final score only affirmed my belief. I used Magoosh almost exclusively, supplementing with only a set of seven practice tests from another company and some OG materials (that I probably should have reviewed more than I did).

Your lessons were so approachable. I found myself watching lessons, taking notes, doing problems, then returning a month or two later to repeat the process after taking tests and doing more problems.

Finally - Mike McGarry is an absolute gem. Even though I've never met him in person, he is easily one of my favorite teachers I've had throughout my life. His explanations are so clear and simple that he makes even complex problems approachable and manageable. Between his superb blogs, video lessons, and question answers, I don't know if there is a better standardized test teacher in existence. Magoosh was a great product, but to be clear, Mike was the differentiator. Without Mike, Magoosh would have been good but not great. As much as I love the branding and culture Magoosh seems to have, if Mike were elsewhere, I'd probably follow.

Thank you Mike and thank you Magoosh. Using almost exclusively your program and the OG, I was able to far surpass my GMAT goals!
Thumbnails

Aug 1, 2016

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh team is very supportive. Helpful guidance is provided at each stage. Quant and SC video sessions by Mike and CR and RC sessions by Chris are really great. The question banks are exhaustive; moreover I found that the difficulty level is at par with that of the questions in actual GMAT. Though my quant score dropped a bit in actual exam, I had reached upto Q48 in GMATprep software CAT. I'm satisfied with the improvement that I could make in verbal from 35 to 44. All credit goes to Magoosh team. Last but not the least, I must mention that the IR sessions are just enough for what one needs to know so as to face IR in actual GMAT with confidence. Thanks.