Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

Nov 2, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 41
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a great deal. I started from scratch this summer, and being 6+ years out of college it was tough to adapt to the routines of studying and test-taking. I was also never much of a math student (English major in undergrad), so GMAT prep represented my first real math work in 10+ years.

I used the app and worked my way through all the lessons during my commutes to and from work. That took a month or so, maybe longer. Then I started focusing on practice questions, usually doing sets of 10 timed for 20 minutes to try to focus on my timing. I tried to focus on the hard and very hard questions in particular.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me get started with my GMAT studying. I had no idea what I was doing, or what to study until I started with Magoosh. I went from 590 in my first practice exam to 720 on the real thing. All in 2 months!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 17, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
In every way. I like that Magoosh focuses on understanding the principles behind the question, not just on how to "beat" the test. I also like the short video format, and particularly the explanations for every question. The practice test were invaluable.
Thumbnails

Oct 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was vital to my review of all the materials. I am 30 years old and haven't brushed many of the topics on the GMAT (particularly quantitative) since high school or early college. Magoosh's instructional videos made learning and/or reviewing the material straightforward and simple.

The video question reviews were similarly helpful. Missing a question posed by one of Magoosh's competitors rewards (punishes?) the student with a wall of text explaining the answer in terms that may or may not be understandable. Magoosh's video approach made every question and answer understandable.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 13, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me dealing with concepts of grammer.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 13, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Lots of practice with questions segmented by difficulty and topic.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 1, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Worth every penny

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 28, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
The flexibility of the online format enabled me to effectively study on my own terms.
Thumbnails

Sep 28, 2014

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Easy access to a large pool of practice questions with detailed video explanations.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 27, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I was focused on quantitative. Lessons and practice problems with video explanations were very helpful.
Thumbnails

Sep 26, 2014

Score Improvement: +18 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 33
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos for each practice question helped immensely. I did not have a solid strategy for reviewing every practice question until I used Magoosh.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 26, 2014

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
I focused on verbal for this attempt. Magoosh videos were extremely helpful in helping with the understanding of the basic concepts and how the same needs to be applied to the questions. I wish I had more time to have completed all of the questions on Magoosh. However, the concept understanding was very useful for solving the problems in both OG and the actual exam and I found the Math section very useful in providing additional strategies compared to other courses I had taken.

My advice for anyone would be to focus on the quality of the preparations and not just the quantity. The blogs were helpful to reinforce several concepts so please go through the blogs.

Thanks Magoosh team!!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 25, 2014

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Huge number of math problems and math explanation videos were really excellent.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 22, 2014

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
I signed up with Magoosh right after my first GMAT attempt that got me a 710 (48Q, 39V). I felt I could do better and Magoosh played a vital role in getting me there. My second GMAT was 5 weeks away and I was looking to efficiently target my weaknesses (DS, CR) while also practicing with a fresh question database (I had completed the OG). Magoosh helped with all that and more! The dashboard/custom practice interface was great and I absolutely loved the short (2-3 min), to the point, video explanations for every question! At this stage in my prep, I really didn't have the time to sit through long-winded 8-10min videos for each question and this was perfect. I scored a 750 (49Q, 42V) in my second attempt and I am thrilled (and relieved)!
Thanks a lot, team Magoosh, you guys are awesome!!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Sep 20, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
i used mgmat and skimmed through some veritas material, but i would say that magoosh has the best resources to enable test takers to learn and review content, hands down, through videos and articles on pertinent topics.

besides videos being helpful, articles (i think these are available to the public without paying the fee) were very, very helpful as well. especially the ones on breathing and anxiety control by Mike.
Thumbnails

Sep 18, 2014

Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 43
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was great in many ways. For one, the short videos were helpful and started from the basics. For another, the strategies improved my score in a very short period of time. I scored 600 in my first practice GMAT. After one month of practice, I achieved a total score of 680 and a perfect AWA score; in two months time, I achieved a total score 700.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 15, 2014

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
When I first took the GMAT over a year ago, I attempted to study on my own. While I certainly learned how to solve a lot of different problems at a rapid pace, I felt I was missing the Quantitative basics necessary for GMAT success. Insert Magoosh. What I valued most of all were the easy to understand lessons and examples, and, perhaps most of all, the in-depth analysis and answers on each and every practice question.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 14, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 50
How did Magoosh help you?
I studied using the three-month (admittedly, for me, four-month), math intensive study plan. I have no doubt that following this plan played a huge role in boosting my quantitative score. Through Magoosh I became familiar and comfortable with the material and types of questions I encountered on test day.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 13, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesome study material. Spent one week with the material and scored a 720. Great program.
Thumbnails

Sep 12, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I started my GMAT journey with the Magoosh GMAT subscription and I can say without doubt that it was worth every penny. I used a lot of other practice materials as well but the practice questions in this course are best of the
lot. In my opinion they're the closest to the real questions in terms of feel and difficulty.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2014

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The one month schedule but then also- the online tutorials that were also available for iPhone. Practice problems within videos were helpful.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2014

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The amount of questions, the videos on each question, the statistics broken down into specific areas.
Thumbnails

Sep 1, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the basis of my study. It help me a lot with all the exercises and with the lessons. I started from zero and Magoosh took me to the 690. I also included some external practice tests to my study.
I think is very important to study the lessons many times during different periods of time.
I am very happy, thank you Magoosh!
Double checks 120x120

Aug 29, 2014

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 58
What was your verbal score? 94
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 96
How did Magoosh help you?
Overview of math and targeted practice through the quizzes of certain sections. Additionally, I loved video explanations of every question!