Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Feb 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
extremely well. saved me a great deal of time.
In Korea, they teach all these things that are to a great extent unrelated to getting a high score on GMAT. Magoosh just teaches essentials. Loved it.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I gather lots of disadvantages regarding the probability of achieving my target score of 700 in the GMAT:
1) I am quite old for the GMAT (31)
2) I work for over 10 hours daily (that was the case during my prep as well)
3) I have no time for prep schools and prep seminars
4) I only had two weeks for preperation

What I did? I relied absolutely in Magoosh material. I viewed all of the videos (in the fast forward since I was running out of time), tried to keep personal notes (very helpful for my last day's revision). I did all of Magoosh's excercises in batches of practice tests (Q37,V41) under real timing conditions (75min) and then read all the solutions (even those I found correct). And in the last 4 days (two of them were the only days off work) I kept re-watching videos and retrying questions either flagged or wrong.

The result? I achieved my target score of 700 on my first try.

I am sure that Magoosh has just the information you need to achieve even a higher score and nothing more. I regard it as an extremely efficient prep tool.

Thank you!
Double checks 120x120

Feb 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It taught me the tricks I needed to solve problems and learn grammar the right way!
Double checks 120x120

Feb 10, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I was pretty pleased with my verbal score on my first attempt at the GMAT (98th percentile), so I only purchased the quant package... I did your math problems every single day after work for 4 weeks. I watched the videos and worked the problems again. The results speak for themselves... from 47th percentile on quant to 88th... from waitlisted to scholarship!!! Thank you.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 8, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I got some good review with math for the quantitative section.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 31, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh videos really helped in SC and Probability. The blog was a big help for RC.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 28, 2015

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was instrumental in filling in the gaps in my knowledge. All of the extra questions, combined with videos to help explain to me what I could do better next time. Magoosh really came through for me at a small fraction of the cost of traditional tutoring services!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 28, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh excercises helped a lot to practice pacing, to see questions in different difficulty levels.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 27, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I thought the intro videos to all of the relevant subjects were super helpful and gave me a great base to refine from.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 27, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to follow a structured approach while preparing for GMAT preparation. The video lessons are also well-designed and immensely helped me in developing my overall quantitative and verbal skills.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was awesome. It was the reason I did well. The videos were extremely helpful. The ability to customize practice sets was invaluable. Being able to see what types of questions I was missing let me structure a more guided and efficient method of studying. I spent $100 on Magoosh and over $300 on other materials and more than 90% of my studying was spent on Magoosh.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 16, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Study plan, video lessons, and adaptive question practice really helped.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 10, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Doing a large amount of practice problems helped me get exposed to the different types of questions to expect on the GMAT.
Thumbnails

Jan 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I started with the 3-month plan for beginners until I had the feeling I could use some more flexibility. I used the custom practice feature to improve in my weaker areas. The 'very hard' questions were challenging and were excellent for practice! I must admit that I have not completed the OG, but I am very happy with my results.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Jan 5, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I was able to use Magoosh to focus on my weak areas, come up with an improvement strategy within a short period of preparation (1 month), and an overall time saving strategy for the exam which I believe helped to improve my verbal score.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 4, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 29
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped improve my Verbal score. The practice tests are really good. The Magoosh questions are very close to the GMAT test.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 3, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has an excellent question bank. The questions were more comparable to the real test questions in term of content and difficulty level. Also, the Magoosh video explanations and lessons were fantastic! They were extremely thorough. I learned more from Magoosh than I did from Kaplan lessons, which cost over $1000.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 31, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
It let me study at my own pace and provided detailed coverage and great explanations of every topic.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 15, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Being able to practice and review lessons whenever I want made it easy to fit studying into my routine. The practice questions were great, I should have done more.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 14, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Provided me with a lot of questions to practice with

Double checks 120x120

Dec 11, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were very helpful to review the material. The questions were also good, I was aiming for 740 and found that it gave me hard and very hard questions mostly, which I think dragged my level up. I did find that the test scores were misleading. A week before the test I scored a 660 and 690 on your tests. At the same time I scored 730 on the GMATPrep test. However I think if your test scoring is harder than the real test then that's ok (better to be surprised upwards).

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Dec 4, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The structure of the 3 month math focused study plan allowed me to remain consistent with my studying, but didn't overwhelm me with too much work. The video lessons and practice probelms were terrific. I am recommending Magoosh to all friends that are planning on taking the GMAT.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 26, 2014

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh significantly helped to increase my number sense and confidence on the quant section. The videos were instrumental in re-learning old concepts from a GMAT perspective.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 26, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Loved the ebook on idioms, it allowed me to do quick refresher of tricky ones that I always seemed to forget. The video lessons and explanation were great. Kept everything simple but enough to explain the concepts.