Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
I decided to study for the GMAT in August and enrolled in a local prep program to help with my preparation. I attended all the classes and went through all the OG practice questions. However, after 2 months of preparation, I still did not feel ready (I was scoring around 600 scores from MGMAT & GMAT Prep tests). I decided to give myself more time and pushed off my GMAT test date for another month.

While I had committed a lot of time to studying for the GMAT, I concluded that I would need to try a different preparation approach and that's when I came upon Magoosh. I started with a free trial and soon upgraded to the premium package because I felt it would really work out for me.

I first went through all the video lessons.The lessons were very easy to understand. I was able to go back to the video lessons any time, whereas for the prep class I could only rely on my notes The Magoosh app was also great for my commute to work.

After finishing the video lessons, I started to do the practice questions. For all the questions that I got incorrect or took too long to solve, I made sure to watch the video explanations. The video explanations after each question worked well for me. It helped to ensure that I was learning how to do the questions in the most effective way, particularly for Quant and Verbal (SC) problems.

Before test date, I had went through all the lessons and practice questions. I was still not feeling 100% confident, but I felt much better than 1 month before, so I went ahead with the test date. I ended up with a 690 - not a bad score, but still 10 points short of my 700 goal. Now I have to decide if I want to retake in another month.

All in all, I would attribute my score improvement to Magoosh more than anything else!
Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Mainly in two ways.

Firstly, Magoosh provided a very clear and systematic method for solving the GMAT.

Additionally, the fact that I could pace the lessons as I saw fit was not only a huge advantage, but also allowed me to dedicate longer time to weak points and skip redundant knowledge.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 43
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? Unsure
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? Unsure
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions with video explanations were very beneficial in helping to learn my strengths and weaknesses.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 38
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
In conjunction with other resources, Magoosh-GMAT helped me solidify math concepts in a way that I found easy to use (e.g computer based). I raised my score from a 500 on practice CAT exams to a 640. If I choose to continue to improve my score, I will definitely make this part of my study plan.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 29, 2012

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 36
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It gave me a great refresher on the basics in quant. The tips were also extremely helpful--especially the pacing. I did not feel rushed at all during the test
Double checks 120x120

Nov 1, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
It let me see and practice gmat like questions with video explanations. I like the format! My score would probably have been a lot less witout Magoosh! ;)
Double checks 120x120

Oct 7, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 37
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The premium GMAT review helped by providing a refresher on many of the fundamental skills needed to be successful on the GMAT. In addition, it reinforced those skills through problems which simulated the actual problems on the GMAT. Most importantly, the videos often provided more efficient ways of solving problems and we all know time is key! I can think of 3 DS problems I had on the actual GMAT that I knew had misleading traps and the only reason I got those right were due to having seen the same trap explained on Magoosh!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 7, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 600
What was your math score? 35
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Made me comfortable with the format of the test and gave me a clear picture of what I didn't know.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 24, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 23
How did Magoosh help you?
Video explanations are very useful and clear
Double checks 120x120

Sep 19, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 680
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me improve my RC performance. I followed your instructions and my accuracy improved from 70% to over 95%. Also I think your question banks are fantastic!

Sorry it took me this long to respond to the survey. I just got done with shoulder surgery and was out of commission for ten days.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
The product is very comprehensive with respect to lessons and practice questions.It explains concepts in a very simple language. The question bank covers a comprehensive range of questions.
In my previous two attempts I scored 650 and 640. I chose Magoosh for my next preparation as it is the only product in the market that offers money back guarantee if there is no improvement of 50 marks. Magoosh offers whatever it promises.

Hats off to Magoosh and the team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Double checks 120x120

May 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 680
What was your math score? 40
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were great! They were broken down enough that I didn't feel overwhelmed. I was able to review specific areas without having to go through things I didn't need. The questions were helpful, especially the explainations. I loved the overall layout of the website. It was very user-friendly.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 2, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 650
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
Very helpful for quants. My score improved from 33 to 49 in three weeks. The video explanantions were so good. I couldn't ask for more.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
It explains how to solve the hard problems immediately.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.