Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Apr 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were great.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The lectures were very helpful specially for the verbal section. The question bank for maths is pretty accurate in terms of its difficulty level
Double checks 120x120

Mar 31, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me because it provided a structured platform that delivered the required content as well as valuable strategies, in a very clear, precise and calm way. It kept me motivated and enabled me to focus my studies on the topics I had difficulties with. I can not judge the effectiveness of expensive prep courses, such as Veritas, but I can confidently say that Magoosh, in combination with the free question bank of Veritas and some additional GMAT practice exams, is sufficient to score in the low 700's for everybody. Depending on how good your logical thinking skills are, how well you are accustomed to the grammatical details of the English language, and how calm you can stay during test situations, I believe you can score even higher.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 27, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were amazing, and having the ability to do hundreds of problems and multiple practice tests greatly separated Magoosh from their competitors
Double checks 120x120

Mar 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The study plan was great. It helped me get focused and keep me moving forward but the best thing, for me, was the video library. All of the lessons and the answer explanations were crucial for me.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Tons of practice questions, then lessons to fill any gaps
Double checks 120x120

Mar 19, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me immensely, I improved my math score to a consistent 49+ after just two weeks of intense study with Magoosh. As someone who learns better by hearing than reading and loves examples, it was the perfect resource for me. It also gave me a lot more improvement per time spent than other methods.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Mar 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I saw a great improvement in my quantitative score over the course of my preparation for the GMAT. The tips for the verbal section for helpful as well.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Bunch of question stock makes me feel confident with a test.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 13, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Allowed me to refresh on the fundamentals of math that had atrophied in the ten years since high school.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 11, 2015

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
It was amazing. It was very hard but every question felt easy after studying.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 1, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was incredibly helpful. By using this product, I learned a lot of the tricks on which the Official Guide was silent. I went through over 700 practice problems with Magoosh and learned some really valuable tricks. I did not take a GMAT course and I think Magoosh more than filled that void. What a wonderful product.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent question reviews. The verbal section was excellent and the idiom ebook was great (I am a native english speaker). The flashcard apps were helpful when on the bus too!
Double checks 120x120

Feb 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
The content and someone answering questions was very helpful.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Feb 19, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
I realized that GMAT is not all about solving the questions but about understanding the concepts underlying the questions, irrespective of the fact whether you have got your answer right or not, And this is where Magoosh played a major role in my preparation.
The video explanation for all the questions is something that really helped me escalate my score, Since it is really exhausting to review all the questions after spending good 150+ minutes solving those questions but once you get a video explanation its no more work. All you have to do is sit back and just watch the explanation videos which are really short & crisp.
Moreover the quality of questions that Magoosh provides is one of the best in the industry.
The question categorization and detailed statistical report after solving the questions are really helpful.
At $99 with a score guarantee of 70 points you cannot ask for anything more.
If one uses the resources provided by Magoosh judiciously then one can definitely improve his/her score.
Double checks 120x120

May 8, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I want to say thank you for everything. I feel lucky I found you. Without you it would have been much more difficult to achieve this score.
You helped me boost my verbal abilities. I feel much more comfortable with my English now than ever before. Also your overall content is great and covers nearly every aspect of the test. My score improved over 80 points with Magoosh. You achieved your goals and also made me happy! You are great. :)
Double checks 120x120

Mar 18, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was tremendously helpful. That might not be apparent at first glance when looking at these scores (old vs. new). But ... I first took the GMAT perhaps 13 years ago. I studied a lot on my own and took multiple practice tests. This time around I wasn't trying to aim for terrific scores to meet top-tier b-school standards, but was instead looking to achieve a respectable score for Masters of Taxation programs. I studied only a little. I'm obviously not able to say your program helped me boost my score. What I can say very confidently is that your program helped me achieve a 740. I certainly would have scored lower without using Magoosh. I reviewed many of the quantitative lessons. I didn't do as well as I hoped on that section - but I don't think it's because of a weakness in the program. The tools you offer are absolutely amazing. So - on a factual basis I can't say my score *improved* because of your program (it stayed constant) - I can say two things (1) my score was higher than it otherwise would have been without using your tools - probably by 40 points - and (2) if I were to use every single element of your training program and take the exam again I'd be confident I'd achieve higher than 740. I'm not sure you can use this as a testimonial. If you want want I'd be happy to write in a more testimonial friendly format. Your program helped me for sure, and for that, I'm thankful. I have to believe that this training site is the best value on the market. It seems that it's priced at the optimal level to be lower than old-school programs fighting to maintain their outdated business models and your better way while still making a fair profit.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Data Sufficiency
Double checks 120x120

Mar 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Going over the lessons in video form helped more than reading other instruction books. Also, going over these additional problems with the video explanations helped me get familiar with the topics.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
I decided to study for the GMAT in August and enrolled in a local prep program to help with my preparation. I attended all the classes and went through all the OG practice questions. However, after 2 months of preparation, I still did not feel ready (I was scoring around 600 scores from MGMAT & GMAT Prep tests). I decided to give myself more time and pushed off my GMAT test date for another month.

While I had committed a lot of time to studying for the GMAT, I concluded that I would need to try a different preparation approach and that's when I came upon Magoosh. I started with a free trial and soon upgraded to the premium package because I felt it would really work out for me.

I first went through all the video lessons.The lessons were very easy to understand. I was able to go back to the video lessons any time, whereas for the prep class I could only rely on my notes The Magoosh app was also great for my commute to work.

After finishing the video lessons, I started to do the practice questions. For all the questions that I got incorrect or took too long to solve, I made sure to watch the video explanations. The video explanations after each question worked well for me. It helped to ensure that I was learning how to do the questions in the most effective way, particularly for Quant and Verbal (SC) problems.

Before test date, I had went through all the lessons and practice questions. I was still not feeling 100% confident, but I felt much better than 1 month before, so I went ahead with the test date. I ended up with a 690 - not a bad score, but still 10 points short of my 700 goal. Now I have to decide if I want to retake in another month.

All in all, I would attribute my score improvement to Magoosh more than anything else!
Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Mainly in two ways.

Firstly, Magoosh provided a very clear and systematic method for solving the GMAT.

Additionally, the fact that I could pace the lessons as I saw fit was not only a huge advantage, but also allowed me to dedicate longer time to weak points and skip redundant knowledge.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Dec 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 43
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? Unsure
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? Unsure
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions with video explanations were very beneficial in helping to learn my strengths and weaknesses.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 38
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
In conjunction with other resources, Magoosh-GMAT helped me solidify math concepts in a way that I found easy to use (e.g computer based). I raised my score from a 500 on practice CAT exams to a 640. If I choose to continue to improve my score, I will definitely make this part of my study plan.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 28, 2012

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 36
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It gave me a great refresher on the basics in quant. The tips were also extremely helpful--especially the pacing. I did not feel rushed at all during the test