Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Jun 15, 2015

Score Improvement: +15 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped me, especially the 30 day guide
Double checks 120x120

Jun 14, 2015

Score Improvement: +21 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh broke down the intimidating fundamental math concepts into digestible videos that I could understand. I whole-heartedly recommend Magoosh to anyone who is tired of transcribing obscure solutions!
Double checks 120x120

Jun 12, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 779
What was your math score? 27
What was your verbal score? 51
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
The general videos and the videos explaining how to solve specific practice questions were hugely valuable! Easy to understand and made the quantitative portion (the most challenging for me) much easier. Loved that I could watch them on the go on my phone. Math flashcards were good for review, too.

Magoosh is the only prep I did between my first and second time taking the GMAT, and it helped me boost my score from a 690 to a 770.
Double checks 120x120

Jun 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Deep question banks and clear answers at the question level
Double checks 120x120

Jun 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped by providing a structured plan that made it easier to allocate my limited time. Although life sometimes got in the way, I knew what needed to be done to adequately cover all of the material. The combination of the written and video explanations to all the questions helped to reinforce concepts.
Double checks 120x120

Jun 8, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
I used Magoosh primarily to sharpen my GMAT verbal skills. A GMAT course I took from another company did not do a good enough job on sentence correction.
While learning the ins and outs of sentence correction and critical reasoning via the lectures from Mike and Chris, I discovered the trove of resources available via Magoosh. I utilized the custom practice section to hone my skills in the month leading up to the exam.
I also watched videos in the quant section to clarify topics I was unclear on.
Double checks 120x120

Jun 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I loved studying through Magoosh for a number of reasons. First of all, actual test questions were harder (at least ones in quantitative section ) so after working through all Magoosh questions I felt like exam questions were much easier. I also learnt a lot from lesssons with explantions. At first I thought that after working through three different books there's nothing new I could learn - but I actually did. I learnt a lot of very nice shortcuts (starting from multiplying by 5 and doubling to gaps in distance questions) which saved a lot of time on the test and thus I didn't panic as much about time.
I also learnt how to pace myself through questions after working on all 700+ questions in Quantitative section - you don't get it with a book. I didn't have that much problems with Critical reasoning (in my opinion anyway) - I guess as a female I'm quite good at arguing :) I learnt to try to understand the worst texts for the Reading part - I tried to actually enjoy things and quite often checked links that led to Wiki - that eventually helped me to broaden my knowledge on some topics. The best part overcoming my Sentence Correction issues - I am not a native speaker and I hate grammar! However, thanks to numerous lessons, I improved that as well. Finally, I am very grateful for all the responses I got on my questions - they were prompt and to the point.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Jun 5, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I became best friends with your amazing video lessons and practice problems. Signing up for your program was THE SINGLE MOST BRILLIANT thing that I've done to prepare for the GMAT.
Double checks 120x120

Jun 5, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 51
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh video explanation is really awesome, especially for the OG SC section. The videos do help me a lot and make me understand how native speakers to cope with the questions that have bothered me. Anyway, really appreciate your help, especially for adam! good instructor, very patient!
Double checks 120x120

Jun 2, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 33
How did Magoosh help you?
I thought the lecture videos clearly articulated how to understand the problem and the underlying concepts. Additionally, the extensive question bank allowed me to reinforce the concepts under test conditions.
Double checks 120x120

May 31, 2015

Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Great question bank! Very clear lessons with "watch-out" areas.
Double checks 120x120

May 30, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
What I particularly liked about Magoosh was that the content and the practice questions were designed very well. The practice questions were in particular very close to the ones that appeared on the GMAT.
Also, Mike McGarry's emphasis on mathematical thinking, developing number sense were deeply insightful. The SC content was perfect in both its breadth and depth!
Finally, the study plans are great! The variety of plans ensure students can choose what fits them best.
Double checks 120x120

May 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me improve significantly on the Quant portion of the exam. Moving me from a 48 to the 49/50 range. The video lessons were helpful and the fact that you can speed them up to absorb the material faster is excellent.

Mike McGarry for President!
Double checks 120x120

May 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I had no clue where to start, and didnt the luxury of time.
Magoosh helped me practise based on difficulty level, and according to topic too.


Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

May 23, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided a great framework and high yield lessons for my GMAT studying. The practice questions and their video explanations really solidified what I learned.
Double checks 120x120

May 19, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 48
How did Magoosh help you?
Maths lessons and practice very helpful, I didn't really use anything else. I think Magoosh represents excellent value for money. I didn't have the time or finances to join a classroom prep class and found the Magoosh videos an excellent substitute.
Double checks 120x120

May 18, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's program helped me take my studying to the next level. The comprehensive video explanations on the Quant and Verbal section for ALL questions (unlike Manhattan GMAT) along with the written explanations gave me two ways to understand a problem. Also, the ability to speed up the videos by 1.5x was a huge help as I normally work 12+ hours Mon-Fri so my free study time on weeknights was limited. I credit Magoosh for helping me breach 700 (Q49V36) on the second try only 7 weeks after my first crack at the test - a 620 (Q43V34)!
Double checks 120x120

May 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Taught me tricks to tackle questions more effectively. Especially helpful in Quant.
Double checks 120x120

May 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
My previous GMAT score was 670. The custom practice was really helpful. I liked that I could specify what I wanted the questions to focus on and set time limits to get in the habit of pacing myself well. Video and written answers for each questions were also useful. Being able to flag questions let me go back to look at explanations for for questions I didn't understand but may have gotten right just from guessing. Overall I really like Magoosh and will definitely recommend it to friends. Thanks!
Double checks 120x120

May 12, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? N.A.
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? N.A.
How did Magoosh help you?
The combination of the original Magoosh content and the 12-week advanced plan posted by Mike was phenomenal. The learning videos created an extremely sound base of knowledge upon which to build the rest of my studies. The video explanations to the practice questions were extremely thorough and allowed me to take away the core concepts that I needed in order to properly apply myself on the test. The content of the questions very well mirrored what was seen in the actual exam. Having some of the content available on a mobile device was an incredible feature, enabling me to fit in some practice whenever I had 5 or 10 spare minutes. And again, I can't speak highly enough of Mike's 12-week advanced program. It is foolproof as long as you have the willpower - just do what he says, no excuses, every single day.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 27, 2015

Score Improvement: +17 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
By making it possible to understand every single exercise. For me personally it worked well watching first the Videos and then practicing.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Apr 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided great lessons, which simplified the GMAT concepts, and relevant sample questions.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were great.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The lectures were very helpful specially for the verbal section. The question bank for maths is pretty accurate in terms of its difficulty level