Skip to Main Content

Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Sep 24, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is one of the best prep materials that's available out there. Explanation videos are to the point and the difficulty of questions is reflective of the ones you'd encounter in the GMAT. Instructors are really helpful and you can ask them just about anything. Both the quantitative and the verbal sections felt a lot easier in the actual test.

Sep 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Access to a large pool of questions in a way that help me identify my weakness and pinpoint the area i should focus on

Sep 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
The Math practice questions were great and I found it extremely helpful to have the video explanations. I am a visual learner and tend to understand concepts better when I can follow along.

Sep 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
It was an incredible resource. The lessons were clear, concise, and laid out in a similar manner to how I think. By that, I mean that I would be watching a lesson, get to a problem, and then Mike McGarry (the best aspect of Magiosh) would highlight all of the possible avenues of reasoning one could take to reach the answer. Having someone acknowledge the thoughts I was having, and then tell me why I was either correct or incorrect to use that method to solve the problem, was incredibly helpful.

Please note that, while I bought the comprehensive Magoosh product, I largely practiced Quant (and only watched the Quant lessons).

Sep 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
So much! First, I got a sense of the range of questions on the test, and was watching the solutions for those I got wrong. Then when I did the practice test, the clock killed me. So to speed up, I would do quiz style 20 questions in 45 minutes, watch the solutions for the ones I missed, and then spend time doing the modules for those subjects (exponents, counting, word problems, etc). Then, the morning of the test, I did a timed quiz for only the question types that I was still struggling with, and again reviewed solutions for the ones that I missed.

For all of this, Magoosh was excellent, and I sent a comment earlier that I felt it was very efficient, helping me to focus exactly on the skills and approaches I needed to boost my score. (And also guiding me to those skills and approaches.) The lessons were much less 'gimmicky' than some of the other prep companies I saw. The presentations are so bare bones, I know I'm going to hear Mike in my dreams, telling me not to fall into the traps that they set to snare people who think they know...

Anyway the other thing that I didn't expect but that gave me a boost on test day was the ability, when confronted with a problem where the approach was really unclear, to make a reasonable guess and move on. The only question that I stayed on longer than I felt comfortable with was one where my estimate was on the wrong side of two very close values, so I had to go back and do the long math. But on that one, the approach was clear enough that I knew I was investing that time in a correct answer.

All in all, I'm really happy with my score, and my only prep was Magoosh and the two free practice exams.

Sep 16, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped set up practice tests, and practice managing my time on quant problems.

Sep 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
It was the best vendor for customizing practices. I did all of the difficult problems and I think it set a very good foundation for what I could expect. The video explanations were very helpful since sometimes it's easier of someone explains it to you than having to read an explanation.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Sep 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The organization of the Magoosh videos was great. The best part about the Magoosh GMAT program is the video explanations for each question in the question bank. This was extremely helpful as reading the explanations in the official guide can be particularly draining. Also, when doing practice questions, it was nice to be able to filter by difficulty level, answered vs unanswered vs incorrect, and practice with or without the time constraint.

Sep 12, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations were incredibly helpful and real-time feedback about questions I got wrong and concepts I needed to explore further. I also got great support from the team when I reached out with a few specific questions. Other companies' material and resources can feel intimidating, but Magoosh felt friendly and gave me the sense that it was rooting for me the whole way. :)

Sep 11, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a very limited amount of time before the exam and as many other students was struggling with the Critical Reasoning Section, but just listening to Magoosh lessions on that topic for one time allowed me to get into 94th percentile on Verbal and get an overall score of 730

Sep 10, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was extremely helpful! I'm not a native English speaker and was struggling with part of the verbal content. I used Magoosh for one week, right before the GMAT, watching videos whenever I could (on my way to work, before going to bed, etc.). I wish I found it earlier. The videos are very straight to the point, contents are easy to find and there are videos explaining every question, which helps a lot to understand the logic behind every topic. I think that's what made the difference in my score. Thank you so much!

Sep 10, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
I only purchased the verbal part of GMAT less then three weeks ago. I finished all my questions and the videos are very helpful. I have tried so many other stuff, but certainly, Magoosh is super helpful to give you a totally different understanding of GMAT and how to choose among those questions that you have no idea how to differentiate the tempting answers. Less than three weeks, I got 6 points increased on my verbal, I am very satisfied.

Sep 9, 2015

Score Improvement: +26 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 29
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 33
How did Magoosh help you?
The lesson videos helped me brush up on material I had not seen in nearly a decade. The plethora of multiple choice questions allowed me to put my understanding of the material taught in the lesson videos to test and helped me grasp the feel of GMAT questions. My study experience was extremely enhanced by the videos provided for each multiple choice question. Not only did these videos help me identify where I was making my errors, but they gave me insight of how to tackle different types of questions.

Sep 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's verbal questions were great and i thought it was the best part of the course.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Sep 2, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Improved from first CAT score of 580 to first official GMAT of 740 in the space of 2 months. Evidence that the magoosh 1 month plan really works.

Sep 2, 2015

Score Improvement: +18 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons were concise and very helpful, especially for someone who hasn't been in school for a while!

Aug 31, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Study plan helped identify material that needed most work.

Aug 31, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Helpful videos and exercises.

Aug 31, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The lesson videos and problem reviews were invaluable. However, the custom problem sets, which allowed me to create daily timed quizzes that were adaptive based on my progress, were most helpful for me.

Aug 30, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided by far best practice material. Forget about anything else, it's just all empty propaganda. Magoosh will present you with relevant practice problems at such difficulty level that will get you in to perfect shape for the GMAT, in fact you will probably find the GMAT most difficult quant questions to be a bit on the easy side.

Maybe two most beneficial aspects of working with Magoosh for me:

1: you gave me an overview of the relevant topics for the exam. It was great to have this overview and the Magoosh practice site with me wherevere I went, it was just few mouse klicks away.

2: You pointed out to the tipical traps in the questions and errors commited by the candidates.

Many thanks for what you did for me and keap up the GREAT WORK!

Aug 29, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
magoosh helped build my basics in maths as well as verbal.Its videos were very detailed and well crafted to explain concepts in an understandable manner.Also,any queries were quickly resolved by the support team.Overall, a fantastic experience :)

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Aug 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me zone in on Quant topics. I really liked how every problem had an explanation and related lessons. This allowed me to go as deeply as I thought I needed to.

Aug 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The explanation videos helped me learn the problems.

Aug 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
I learned almost everything I needed for my GMAT from Magoosh. I loved the practice questions and video explanations.