Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

May 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Taught me tricks to tackle questions more effectively. Especially helpful in Quant.
Double checks 120x120

May 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
My previous GMAT score was 670. The custom practice was really helpful. I liked that I could specify what I wanted the questions to focus on and set time limits to get in the habit of pacing myself well. Video and written answers for each questions were also useful. Being able to flag questions let me go back to look at explanations for for questions I didn't understand but may have gotten right just from guessing. Overall I really like Magoosh and will definitely recommend it to friends. Thanks!
Double checks 120x120

May 12, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? N.A.
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? N.A.
How did Magoosh help you?
The combination of the original Magoosh content and the 12-week advanced plan posted by Mike was phenomenal. The learning videos created an extremely sound base of knowledge upon which to build the rest of my studies. The video explanations to the practice questions were extremely thorough and allowed me to take away the core concepts that I needed in order to properly apply myself on the test. The content of the questions very well mirrored what was seen in the actual exam. Having some of the content available on a mobile device was an incredible feature, enabling me to fit in some practice whenever I had 5 or 10 spare minutes. And again, I can't speak highly enough of Mike's 12-week advanced program. It is foolproof as long as you have the willpower - just do what he says, no excuses, every single day.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 27, 2015

Score Improvement: +17 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
By making it possible to understand every single exercise. For me personally it worked well watching first the Videos and then practicing.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided great lessons, which simplified the GMAT concepts, and relevant sample questions.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were great.
Double checks 120x120

Apr 9, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The lectures were very helpful specially for the verbal section. The question bank for maths is pretty accurate in terms of its difficulty level

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Mar 31, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 43
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me because it provided a structured platform that delivered the required content as well as valuable strategies, in a very clear, precise and calm way. It kept me motivated and enabled me to focus my studies on the topics I had difficulties with. I can not judge the effectiveness of expensive prep courses, such as Veritas, but I can confidently say that Magoosh, in combination with the free question bank of Veritas and some additional GMAT practice exams, is sufficient to score in the low 700's for everybody. Depending on how good your logical thinking skills are, how well you are accustomed to the grammatical details of the English language, and how calm you can stay during test situations, I believe you can score even higher.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 27, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were amazing, and having the ability to do hundreds of problems and multiple practice tests greatly separated Magoosh from their competitors
Double checks 120x120

Mar 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The study plan was great. It helped me get focused and keep me moving forward but the best thing, for me, was the video library. All of the lessons and the answer explanations were crucial for me.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Tons of practice questions, then lessons to fill any gaps
Double checks 120x120

Mar 19, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me immensely, I improved my math score to a consistent 49+ after just two weeks of intense study with Magoosh. As someone who learns better by hearing than reading and loves examples, it was the perfect resource for me. It also gave me a lot more improvement per time spent than other methods.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I saw a great improvement in my quantitative score over the course of my preparation for the GMAT. The tips for the verbal section for helpful as well.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Bunch of question stock makes me feel confident with a test.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Mar 13, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Allowed me to refresh on the fundamentals of math that had atrophied in the ten years since high school.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 11, 2015

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
It was amazing. It was very hard but every question felt easy after studying.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 1, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was incredibly helpful. By using this product, I learned a lot of the tricks on which the Official Guide was silent. I went through over 700 practice problems with Magoosh and learned some really valuable tricks. I did not take a GMAT course and I think Magoosh more than filled that void. What a wonderful product.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent question reviews. The verbal section was excellent and the idiom ebook was great (I am a native english speaker). The flashcard apps were helpful when on the bus too!
Double checks 120x120

Feb 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
The content and someone answering questions was very helpful.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 19, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
I realized that GMAT is not all about solving the questions but about understanding the concepts underlying the questions, irrespective of the fact whether you have got your answer right or not, And this is where Magoosh played a major role in my preparation.
The video explanation for all the questions is something that really helped me escalate my score, Since it is really exhausting to review all the questions after spending good 150+ minutes solving those questions but once you get a video explanation its no more work. All you have to do is sit back and just watch the explanation videos which are really short & crisp.
Moreover the quality of questions that Magoosh provides is one of the best in the industry.
The question categorization and detailed statistical report after solving the questions are really helpful.
At $99 with a score guarantee of 70 points you cannot ask for anything more.
If one uses the resources provided by Magoosh judiciously then one can definitely improve his/her score.
Double checks 120x120

May 8, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I want to say thank you for everything. I feel lucky I found you. Without you it would have been much more difficult to achieve this score.
You helped me boost my verbal abilities. I feel much more comfortable with my English now than ever before. Also your overall content is great and covers nearly every aspect of the test. My score improved over 80 points with Magoosh. You achieved your goals and also made me happy! You are great. :)

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Mar 18, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was tremendously helpful. That might not be apparent at first glance when looking at these scores (old vs. new). But ... I first took the GMAT perhaps 13 years ago. I studied a lot on my own and took multiple practice tests. This time around I wasn't trying to aim for terrific scores to meet top-tier b-school standards, but was instead looking to achieve a respectable score for Masters of Taxation programs. I studied only a little. I'm obviously not able to say your program helped me boost my score. What I can say very confidently is that your program helped me achieve a 740. I certainly would have scored lower without using Magoosh. I reviewed many of the quantitative lessons. I didn't do as well as I hoped on that section - but I don't think it's because of a weakness in the program. The tools you offer are absolutely amazing. So - on a factual basis I can't say my score *improved* because of your program (it stayed constant) - I can say two things (1) my score was higher than it otherwise would have been without using your tools - probably by 40 points - and (2) if I were to use every single element of your training program and take the exam again I'd be confident I'd achieve higher than 740. I'm not sure you can use this as a testimonial. If you want want I'd be happy to write in a more testimonial friendly format. Your program helped me for sure, and for that, I'm thankful. I have to believe that this training site is the best value on the market. It seems that it's priced at the optimal level to be lower than old-school programs fighting to maintain their outdated business models and your better way while still making a fair profit.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Data Sufficiency
Double checks 120x120

Mar 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Going over the lessons in video form helped more than reading other instruction books. Also, going over these additional problems with the video explanations helped me get familiar with the topics.