Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Mar 13, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Allowed me to refresh on the fundamentals of math that had atrophied in the ten years since high school.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 11, 2015

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
It was amazing. It was very hard but every question felt easy after studying.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 1, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was incredibly helpful. By using this product, I learned a lot of the tricks on which the Official Guide was silent. I went through over 700 practice problems with Magoosh and learned some really valuable tricks. I did not take a GMAT course and I think Magoosh more than filled that void. What a wonderful product.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? n/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent question reviews. The verbal section was excellent and the idiom ebook was great (I am a native english speaker). The flashcard apps were helpful when on the bus too!
Double checks 120x120

Feb 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
The content and someone answering questions was very helpful.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 19, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
I realized that GMAT is not all about solving the questions but about understanding the concepts underlying the questions, irrespective of the fact whether you have got your answer right or not, And this is where Magoosh played a major role in my preparation.
The video explanation for all the questions is something that really helped me escalate my score, Since it is really exhausting to review all the questions after spending good 150+ minutes solving those questions but once you get a video explanation its no more work. All you have to do is sit back and just watch the explanation videos which are really short & crisp.
Moreover the quality of questions that Magoosh provides is one of the best in the industry.
The question categorization and detailed statistical report after solving the questions are really helpful.
At $99 with a score guarantee of 70 points you cannot ask for anything more.
If one uses the resources provided by Magoosh judiciously then one can definitely improve his/her score.
Double checks 120x120

May 8, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I want to say thank you for everything. I feel lucky I found you. Without you it would have been much more difficult to achieve this score.
You helped me boost my verbal abilities. I feel much more comfortable with my English now than ever before. Also your overall content is great and covers nearly every aspect of the test. My score improved over 80 points with Magoosh. You achieved your goals and also made me happy! You are great. :)

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Mar 18, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was tremendously helpful. That might not be apparent at first glance when looking at these scores (old vs. new). But ... I first took the GMAT perhaps 13 years ago. I studied a lot on my own and took multiple practice tests. This time around I wasn't trying to aim for terrific scores to meet top-tier b-school standards, but was instead looking to achieve a respectable score for Masters of Taxation programs. I studied only a little. I'm obviously not able to say your program helped me boost my score. What I can say very confidently is that your program helped me achieve a 740. I certainly would have scored lower without using Magoosh. I reviewed many of the quantitative lessons. I didn't do as well as I hoped on that section - but I don't think it's because of a weakness in the program. The tools you offer are absolutely amazing. So - on a factual basis I can't say my score *improved* because of your program (it stayed constant) - I can say two things (1) my score was higher than it otherwise would have been without using your tools - probably by 40 points - and (2) if I were to use every single element of your training program and take the exam again I'd be confident I'd achieve higher than 740. I'm not sure you can use this as a testimonial. If you want want I'd be happy to write in a more testimonial friendly format. Your program helped me for sure, and for that, I'm thankful. I have to believe that this training site is the best value on the market. It seems that it's priced at the optimal level to be lower than old-school programs fighting to maintain their outdated business models and your better way while still making a fair profit.
Double checks 120x120

Mar 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Data Sufficiency
Double checks 120x120

Mar 16, 2014

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Going over the lessons in video form helped more than reading other instruction books. Also, going over these additional problems with the video explanations helped me get familiar with the topics.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
I decided to study for the GMAT in August and enrolled in a local prep program to help with my preparation. I attended all the classes and went through all the OG practice questions. However, after 2 months of preparation, I still did not feel ready (I was scoring around 600 scores from MGMAT & GMAT Prep tests). I decided to give myself more time and pushed off my GMAT test date for another month.

While I had committed a lot of time to studying for the GMAT, I concluded that I would need to try a different preparation approach and that's when I came upon Magoosh. I started with a free trial and soon upgraded to the premium package because I felt it would really work out for me.

I first went through all the video lessons.The lessons were very easy to understand. I was able to go back to the video lessons any time, whereas for the prep class I could only rely on my notes The Magoosh app was also great for my commute to work.

After finishing the video lessons, I started to do the practice questions. For all the questions that I got incorrect or took too long to solve, I made sure to watch the video explanations. The video explanations after each question worked well for me. It helped to ensure that I was learning how to do the questions in the most effective way, particularly for Quant and Verbal (SC) problems.

Before test date, I had went through all the lessons and practice questions. I was still not feeling 100% confident, but I felt much better than 1 month before, so I went ahead with the test date. I ended up with a 690 - not a bad score, but still 10 points short of my 700 goal. Now I have to decide if I want to retake in another month.

All in all, I would attribute my score improvement to Magoosh more than anything else!
Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Mainly in two ways.

Firstly, Magoosh provided a very clear and systematic method for solving the GMAT.

Additionally, the fact that I could pace the lessons as I saw fit was not only a huge advantage, but also allowed me to dedicate longer time to weak points and skip redundant knowledge.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 670
What was your math score? 43
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? Unsure
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? Unsure
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions with video explanations were very beneficial in helping to learn my strengths and weaknesses.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 38
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
In conjunction with other resources, Magoosh-GMAT helped me solidify math concepts in a way that I found easy to use (e.g computer based). I raised my score from a 500 on practice CAT exams to a 640. If I choose to continue to improve my score, I will definitely make this part of my study plan.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 28, 2012

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 36
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 32
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It gave me a great refresher on the basics in quant. The tips were also extremely helpful--especially the pacing. I did not feel rushed at all during the test
Double checks 120x120

Nov 1, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
It let me see and practice gmat like questions with video explanations. I like the format! My score would probably have been a lot less witout Magoosh! ;)
Double checks 120x120

Oct 7, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 37
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The premium GMAT review helped by providing a refresher on many of the fundamental skills needed to be successful on the GMAT. In addition, it reinforced those skills through problems which simulated the actual problems on the GMAT. Most importantly, the videos often provided more efficient ways of solving problems and we all know time is key! I can think of 3 DS problems I had on the actual GMAT that I knew had misleading traps and the only reason I got those right were due to having seen the same trap explained on Magoosh!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 7, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 600
What was your math score? 35
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Made me comfortable with the format of the test and gave me a clear picture of what I didn't know.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 24, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 23
How did Magoosh help you?
Video explanations are very useful and clear
Double checks 120x120

Sep 19, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 680
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me improve my RC performance. I followed your instructions and my accuracy improved from 70% to over 95%. Also I think your question banks are fantastic!

Sorry it took me this long to respond to the survey. I just got done with shoulder surgery and was out of commission for ten days.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
The product is very comprehensive with respect to lessons and practice questions.It explains concepts in a very simple language. The question bank covers a comprehensive range of questions.
In my previous two attempts I scored 650 and 640. I chose Magoosh for my next preparation as it is the only product in the market that offers money back guarantee if there is no improvement of 50 marks. Magoosh offers whatever it promises.

Hats off to Magoosh and the team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

May 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 680
What was your math score? 40
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were great! They were broken down enough that I didn't feel overwhelmed. I was able to review specific areas without having to go through things I didn't need. The questions were helpful, especially the explainations. I loved the overall layout of the website. It was very user-friendly.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 2, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 650
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
Very helpful for quants. My score improved from 33 to 49 in three weeks. The video explanantions were so good. I couldn't ask for more.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
It explains how to solve the hard problems immediately.