Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Oct 13, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
It basically help me organize my entire GMAT study schedule. I used your schedules, listened to all the lessons and I think I finished all the exercises. I'll be listening to Mike McGarry's voice in my head for a while and I'm not complaining!

PS. He should read audio books.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 11, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
It really helped me to understand what GMAT verbal is all about. The only difference between my last attempt and this attempt was the I was better equipped to handle Verbal this time and all the credit goes to Magoosh
Double checks 120x120

Oct 11, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The material, blog, and videos provided a great foundation for real understanding of the math and verbal concepts. I felt prepared to handle varying concepts given the base of knowledge magoosh helped me to develop. Overall, magoosh was a great resource that helped me to get my 710 score in one try!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 10, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh had some of the best video lessons on improving the GMAT verbal scores. The review section can be customized to provide feedback on what areas one needs to improve.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 8, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice problems and math videos. A lot of math videos. Mike McGarry's voice will be in my head whenever I do math now, for better or for worse.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 7, 2015

Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The explanation videos were very helpful!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Great Questions, brief lectures and customised testing.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 2, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice problems were invaluable to learning the commonly used patterns on the GMAT, the only way to learn them well is to screw them up a few times to ensure the lesson is memorable (I can't tell you how many times I forgot that x^2=4 has two possible answers.)
Double checks 120x120

Oct 2, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me analyze my week points.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 28, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Question bank and explanations. Customized question banks were helpful.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me improve my score from 650 to 720. I loved the questions and the detailed explanations .
Double checks 120x120

Sep 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos are SO helpful - both math and verbal (mostly SC). Also having a video after each problem is so incredibly useful. Magoosh helped me more than I can express in words - thank you, Magoosh!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was fantastic! The math "tricks" and forcing students to think about the math on a conceptual level was invaluable when I hit trickier questions on the test. Being able to step back and look at the logic behind the question both aided me in guessing and working through solving the question. Magoosh is unique in that it doesn't teach you just how to do the question via traditional methods (i.e. working backwards, smart numbers, or algebra) but walks you through conceptualizing the problem and working through the logic. Additionally, the IR video and practice problems are unique and extremely helpful during test preparation.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to get me the score I wanted, and even above. The instruction video's and the explanation video's with the practise questions were invaluable. The forum is great for even more depth. All in all, a very approachable way to study for the GMAT!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 24, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is one of the best prep materials that's available out there. Explanation videos are to the point and the difficulty of questions is reflective of the ones you'd encounter in the GMAT. Instructors are really helpful and you can ask them just about anything. Both the quantitative and the verbal sections felt a lot easier in the actual test.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Access to a large pool of questions in a way that help me identify my weakness and pinpoint the area i should focus on
Double checks 120x120

Sep 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
The Math practice questions were great and I found it extremely helpful to have the video explanations. I am a visual learner and tend to understand concepts better when I can follow along.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
It was an incredible resource. The lessons were clear, concise, and laid out in a similar manner to how I think. By that, I mean that I would be watching a lesson, get to a problem, and then Mike McGarry (the best aspect of Magiosh) would highlight all of the possible avenues of reasoning one could take to reach the answer. Having someone acknowledge the thoughts I was having, and then tell me why I was either correct or incorrect to use that method to solve the problem, was incredibly helpful.

Please note that, while I bought the comprehensive Magoosh product, I largely practiced Quant (and only watched the Quant lessons).
Double checks 120x120

Sep 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
So much! First, I got a sense of the range of questions on the test, and was watching the solutions for those I got wrong. Then when I did the practice test, the clock killed me. So to speed up, I would do quiz style 20 questions in 45 minutes, watch the solutions for the ones I missed, and then spend time doing the modules for those subjects (exponents, counting, word problems, etc). Then, the morning of the test, I did a timed quiz for only the question types that I was still struggling with, and again reviewed solutions for the ones that I missed.

For all of this, Magoosh was excellent, and I sent a comment earlier that I felt it was very efficient, helping me to focus exactly on the skills and approaches I needed to boost my score. (And also guiding me to those skills and approaches.) The lessons were much less 'gimmicky' than some of the other prep companies I saw. The presentations are so bare bones, I know I'm going to hear Mike in my dreams, telling me not to fall into the traps that they set to snare people who think they know...

Anyway the other thing that I didn't expect but that gave me a boost on test day was the ability, when confronted with a problem where the approach was really unclear, to make a reasonable guess and move on. The only question that I stayed on longer than I felt comfortable with was one where my estimate was on the wrong side of two very close values, so I had to go back and do the long math. But on that one, the approach was clear enough that I knew I was investing that time in a correct answer.

All in all, I'm really happy with my score, and my only prep was Magoosh and the two free practice exams.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 16, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped set up practice tests, and practice managing my time on quant problems.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
It was the best vendor for customizing practices. I did all of the difficult problems and I think it set a very good foundation for what I could expect. The video explanations were very helpful since sometimes it's easier of someone explains it to you than having to read an explanation.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The organization of the Magoosh videos was great. The best part about the Magoosh GMAT program is the video explanations for each question in the question bank. This was extremely helpful as reading the explanations in the official guide can be particularly draining. Also, when doing practice questions, it was nice to be able to filter by difficulty level, answered vs unanswered vs incorrect, and practice with or without the time constraint.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 12, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations were incredibly helpful and real-time feedback about questions I got wrong and concepts I needed to explore further. I also got great support from the team when I reached out with a few specific questions. Other companies' material and resources can feel intimidating, but Magoosh felt friendly and gave me the sense that it was rooting for me the whole way. :)
Double checks 120x120

Sep 11, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a very limited amount of time before the exam and as many other students was struggling with the Critical Reasoning Section, but just listening to Magoosh lessions on that topic for one time allowed me to get into 94th percentile on Verbal and get an overall score of 730