Skip to Main Content

Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Aug 13, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Structure and the problems were much harder than the actual test. Video explanations were great as well

Aug 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos at Magoosh definately help in building a solid framework about all concepts that are rested on the exam! Although I made some slight modifications to fit my schedule, the 6-month plan helped me tremendously to achieve a 710 on the GMAT!

Aug 10, 2016

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations and lessons were absolutely brilliant! They provided clear and concise approaches to all the different problem types one could face. The diagnostic review was very useful, as it allowed me to pinpoint areas of weakness. The blog posts on breathing, managing anxiety etc. were also of great benefit.

Aug 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Refresher on math concepts I haven't touched since high school and developing strategies for tackling GMAT questions

Aug 5, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I am deeply indebted to Magoosh. Magoosh 3-month advanced plan helped me to be consistent in my preparation. I followed it religiously and my score went up from 660 (Mock CAT) to 730 on actual test. Magoosh provided the necessary support and guidance throughout my preparation. Magoosh videos explains things very nicely which further helped me to strengthen my weak areas. Thank You Magoosh.

Aug 3, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I really enjoyed the combination of available options, ranging from the videos (with the option to track understanding within them), sample questions within the videos, and customizeable practice formats. Combining these really helped me attack my knowledge gaps from multiple angles.

Aug 2, 2016

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
Video lessons were very informative and the practice questions were extremely helpful. The videos covered the GMAT syllabus very well. Many of the concepts shared here are not available in any of the other course material.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Jul 31, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
With the limited prep time and inconsistent weekly schedules I had, Magoosh was the ideal solution – the mix of self-study videos and practice problems allowed me to learn at my pace on my schedule, digging deep on things I didn't remember while skimming the more basic concepts.

Jul 29, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me by giving me an interactive study process. Watching the tutorials helped remind me of little tricks, especially for math. The vast amount of practice questions allowed me to practice those tricks. The answer explanations were the most helpful of all. By supplying the explanation as to why verbal answers were wrong I was able to understand the mistakes I was making and correct them. The math explanations helped me understand I was making stupid mistakes and assumptions. This helped me slow down and pay attention to the whole questions. I honestly tried to study with books before moving to Magoosh and felt flustered and stagnant. I genuinely believe Magoosh helped me get the 700+ score I desired.

Jul 26, 2016

Score Improvement: +17 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Provided a solid structure to build my studying around. The videos and explanations were particularly useful. I really enjoyed the platform and have recommended Magoosh to friends preparing for the GMAT.

Jul 25, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The key to preforming well on the GMAT is having enough material to practice. With over 1000+ practice problems, Magoosh was able to test my understanding of Verbal and Quant from every angle to make sure I was prepared. When I answered a question incorrectly, the thorough explanations were able to help me understand where I went wrong. If I did not fully understand a topic, I could use the suggested videos at the bottom of every practice problem to review the areas where I was struggling. I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone planning on taking the GMAT (or other standardized test).

Jul 15, 2016

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 32
How did Magoosh help you?
The entire range from problems, blogs, lessons to the mock exams were useful for me to get the score that i got!

Jul 9, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Both lessons and practice questions were really helpful. I followed 6-months study plan with some personalization and it worked out pretty well. I really appreciated video answers to every practice question - they helped to understand the details.

Jul 9, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I knew right at the start that I wanted to study by myself, at my pace and convenience. I didn't want to attend classes; I wanted somebody who would offer great material and a handy guide to navigate through the material. Magoosh offered it best, and at their low price, it was really a no-brainer to sign up.

The video lessons were useful in explaining concepts. The inexhaustible question bank was amazing - I could simply log in everyday and do a new set of questions. And I loved the video explanations on each question - they helped clarify a lot of mistakes.

I started at 590. I ended at 740.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Jul 7, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
I like the 3 month study plan. Tried following both beginner and the advanced level for more than two months before just practicing from all the materials.
My favorite part was the response from the team when I asked the questions. It was quick and always enough to get clarity.

Jun 30, 2016

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
It gave me so many useful tricks and strategies to tackle verbal problems. These tricks were ones I would not have gotten elsewhere. Also the video answer explanations were very helpful.

Jun 29, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really provided me an extra advantage in filling in some of the more obscure gaps of knowledge. These lesser-known tips and tricks helped me get some of the more difficult questions correct on the GMAT. I believe that it was getting those questions correct that made a big difference in my score compared to the average test-taker.

In addition, I completed all of the practice questions because each one of them had a detailed video explanation. It was similar to getting over 1000 individual lessons, which really helped in solidifying my understanding of a concept from multiple angles.

Jun 28, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Mainly with the videos from the verbal part, the exercises and the answers explanations

Jun 23, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was an ever awake friend, ready to coach me and test my skills whenever I felt like it.

Jun 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
The 3 Month math focused study plan was brilliantly organized and contained everything I needed to study for the GMAT. It's the reason I achieved the score that I did.

Jun 3, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Good practice material

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Jun 3, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were great--comprehensive review of all the math topics you need to know. The flashcards were also very useful for brushing up on necessary formulas and shortcuts.

Jun 2, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is very in-depth. The math lessons are especially helpful.

Jun 1, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I used the Magoosh study plan as a basis for studying for the GMAT. I chose the math focused study guide since my baseline score for quant was much lower than for verbal. The math lessons and math practice problems were extremely helpful! Magoosh clearly has a deep understanding of the GMAT, and the foundational skills and tips I learned served me well on the actual GMAT. I brought my math score up from a 38 (on GMAT prep software) to a 48 on the actual GMAT.