Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

Nov 5, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I came to my GMAT study with a fairly good grasp on the verbal material, having previously studied for and taken the LSAT, which is basically GMAT Verbal on steriods), but my quant skills were RUSTY, to say the least. The Magoosh videos were super helpful for me as I brushed up basic math info and moved from level 1-2 understanding to level 4-6 understanding of the concepts. The videos are simple and short, highly digestible. They are packed with information.

I chose Magoosh because I needed a cost-friendly option for my GMAT prep. I would say that Magoosh definitely met my needs on many levels, but I think one of the key helps is the 3 month study plans that Magoosh offers. I used a combination of the quant focused and high scorer plans and these regiments definitely helped me to structure my study time and make sure I was prepping effectively. I had tried self study before and failed because I had no overarching game plan.
Thumbnails

Oct 30, 2013

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I was better prepared for the math section this time.

Thumbnails

Oct 24, 2013

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
I only took up the quantitative package from Magoosh, as I was specifically looking to improve my math scores on my second attempt. The lessons were in a simple, conversational style, which made learning concepts easier - it almost felt like being in a classroom! I also liked the ability to set time and number limits on the questions, with an adaptive algorithm - this helped me take multiple attempts in actual test conditions.
Thumbnails

Oct 20, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were very well made, informative, and easy to watch and I utilized the note taking ability a lot. The practice problems were very much like the real thing.
Thumbnails

Sep 25, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were great and framed everything that's needed in an accessible format. The sheer number of questions was also great.
Thumbnails

Sep 19, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Absolutely.... Magoosh helped me get a 710 on my FIRST time taking the test with 2 months of preparation.

I am absolutely a huge supporter of your company, and I am a huge brand agent for Magoosh.
Thumbnails

Aug 17, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The filters/notes options were great at helping me focus on questions and reviewing them.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Aug 12, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
The video tutorials were effective at helping me polish the quant techniques that I need to take the test efficiently.
Thumbnails

Aug 2, 2013

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations on how to do each math problem helped the most. The instructional videos were great.
Thumbnails

Aug 1, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons helped me study while travelling. The practice questions were very user friendly with very good explanations.
Thumbnails

Jul 21, 2013

Score Improvement: +18 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
I only purchased the quant section, as I thought I was on track with verbal; the videos helped me improve my math skills tremendously. I struggled with both time and some more advanced math concepts, but the shortcuts and tricks learned from the Magoosh tutorials were spot on. I also loved how customizable the practice questions were - I could sort them out by difficulty range, concepts, and could redo the ones that I previously answered incorrectly. I also used the GMAT Prep 1st set of questions and I believe that I owe my great improvement to both Magoosh and GMAT Prep.
Thumbnails

Jul 10, 2013

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I used Magoosh mainly for the quantitative section, since I felt that was my weak point during my first attempt. The quatitative practice questions are just like what you will get during the exam and the video explanations are excellent. I think the strongest point of Magoosh is it actually focuses in what is tested.
Thumbnails

Jul 9, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh allowed me to do timed question sets with adaptive difficulty, which was very similar to the actual GMAT. The explanations for each question are crystal clear and video suggestions at the end of each question bridge the gap in understanding. Both quant and verbal sections have good number of high level problems for advance test takers. Their support staff does a very fine job to respond to your queries in less than 24 hours and ensure that nothing goes unresolved.

Love the product, thank you guys :)
Thumbnails

Jul 1, 2013

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I think the volume of problems, videos and email responses were all very useful.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jun 7, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I loved the questions and the video tutorials after each one!
Thumbnails

Jun 3, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I think Magoosh was an awesome part of any study plan, and it was the core of my plan. I really appreciated the pre-planned study schedule and the fact that you actively incorporate other materials, the OG, forums, and Manhattan, into those plans. There were a number of formulas and techniques not covered by Magoosh I found helpful on upper level questions (the double matrix method jumps to mind as one example), but I think you know that, and build your program to incorporate those from other places for high level students. Customer Service was great.
Thumbnails

Apr 4, 2013

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh allowed me to practice all their questions in the timed & test simulated conditions. Doing practice tests for verbal helped me build the stamina needed for the 4-Hour long test. I went through the explanations after each sectional test and found the explanations quiet brilliant and precise.
Thumbnails

Mar 21, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Questions and lessons were excellent. Practice questions for mathematics were impeccable and were of a great help. Cost of the program was also very reasonable.
Thumbnails

Mar 18, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I used Magoosh for my GRE prep as well, so I knew exactly how I wanted to use the product. I watched every lecture, and then just used the question bank to focus on my weakest areas.
Thumbnails

Mar 8, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I was able to target my practice to areas that needed the most improvement. I also liked that each question had a video explanation.
Thumbnails

Oct 18, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me gain the much needed improvement in the verbal section. My score had suffered in the first attempt because of low verbal scores, especially due to my inability to comprehend RC and CR problems. Magoosh helped me overcome this problem by demonstrating the correct method of approaching the verbal questions. The lessons were clear, brief and simple to comprehend.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

May 25, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
While reviewing for the GMAT, I had attempted to use study books and question banks but was having difficulty. After writing and performing poorly on the GMAT I discovered Magoosh by searching for a GMAT study aid that allowed the user to see the difficulty of the questions they were working on. This helped immensely in allowing me to understand where my issues were and how to best tackle them. The video lessons were all very informative and covered everything you would need to know for the entire GMAT. I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone who enjoys working at their own pace and wants all the information you could require to succeed.
Thumbnails

May 3, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were very helpful. All the GMAT topics were covered wonderfully! Also the OG video solution for maths came in handy.
Thumbnails

Oct 25, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
I can't thank Magoosh enough for my 710! I used a combination of tools but I credit Magoosh with much of my progress because of the detailed, easy-to-follow explanations. There are a lot of services that offer practice questions but Magoosh helped me clearly understand what I was doing wrong and taught me strategies for how to work faster and smarter. Also, the ability to customize practice sessions by category and difficulty was incredibly helpful when I needed to zero in on problem areas.