Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Thumbnails

Oct 25, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
I can't thank Magoosh enough for my 710! I used a combination of tools but I credit Magoosh with much of my progress because of the detailed, easy-to-follow explanations. There are a lot of services that offer practice questions but Magoosh helped me clearly understand what I was doing wrong and taught me strategies for how to work faster and smarter. Also, the ability to customize practice sessions by category and difficulty was incredibly helpful when I needed to zero in on problem areas.
Thumbnails

Aug 14, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
I think Magoosh helped me a lot with the Quant section, though I made a few careless mistakes during the actual test (clicking wrong answers).
Thumbnails

Jul 31, 2013

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 680
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Pretty extensive library of video lessons, video explanation of every practice question
Thumbnails

May 24, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to improve my math skills. I liked that the question bank could be set in so many different ways, so that you can focus your practice on your weakest areas.
Thumbnails

Mar 4, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 680
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesome, I had very little for preparation and the excellent video lessons as well as the practice questions with video explanations took my score from mid 500's to 680. I owe everything to Magoosh.
Thumbnails

Jul 30, 2014

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh organized lessons to provide a comprehensive training program that's easy to follow. Simply put the time in to complete the work outlined.
Thumbnails

Jun 21, 2014

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 660
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 37
How did Magoosh help you?
The lesson videos explained the mechanics behind the necessary math very well.

Having video explanations for each question was a huge help also. Previously, I used another self study online prep course and they only had written explanations for answers. For some reason, written explanations did not register as well with me and I wouldn't always understand how they got from one step to the next. With the video explanations for each problem/answer I was able to SEE and HEAR the process, which helped me understand the logic/math much better.

Also, the help team was great and always provided timely and thorough advice.

The question bank was great with a nice range of easy to very hard. I loved the "score predictor" aspect because it gave a nice guide of where I was, and whether I was improving or not. Turns out, it was rather accurate (my score predictor ranges were 41-47 and 35-42 respectively, I thought no way I'll get that high on math and no way I'll get that low on verbal. Well, I got 44 and 38, literally smack dab in the middle of each range).

Lastly, the study plans were awesome. Gave a nice organized structure for my approach. I used the 3 month math focus.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 6, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 690
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons and explanations were really helpful. Overall with just under a months preparation i did not expect to score as much as i did. Thanks to you guys!
Thumbnails

Oct 1, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was extremely useful for me in improving my GMAT scores from 570 to 640. The video lessons are an excellent resource, the questions are very similar to the actual GMAT questions, the answer explanations are well organized and clear. Support is EXCELLENT, they reply in a timely manner and provide useful clarifications and insights. I strongly recommend anyone who wishes to improve his score to join Magoosh. You won't regret it.
Thumbnails

Sep 9, 2013

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 610
What was your math score? 39
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh played a primary role in getting a much better score the second time around. The instruction video lessons and 900 questions with videos were a tremendous help to me. Magoosh was exactly what I needed. I improved in every section as a result of Magoosh. I just wish I found it before I wasted my time using the Kaplan and Princeton review books like I did the first time around.
Thumbnails

Aug 13, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 29
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 600
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 540
How did Magoosh help you?
The product gave me a more comprehensive understanding on the verbal section and improved my math.
Thumbnails

Aug 8, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 660
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons were very useful, and the possibility of exercising with the answer explanation so detailed was great.
Thumbnails

Jun 8, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 660
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me tremendously. I owe much of my success to Magoosh. It truly gave me that confidence in feeling prepared to take the GMAT. Before I signed up for Magoosh, the quantitative section gave me a real hard time, especially DS questions.

I used Magoosh's 3 month math-specific study schedule to tackle my weakness in Math. I did all the problems, reviewed them daily, and made sure I understood where I went wrong.

I just got done taking the actual GMAT exam today and I received a score of 660 (47Q, 34V). I've never received higher than a 43 on any of my practice exams. I am so happy. All the hard work paid off and Magoosh played a large part in my success.

I thank everyone at this website for their help! I can't thank you guys enough! I'm done with the GMAT! tHANK YOU MAGOOSH! =D
Thumbnails

May 25, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 660
What was your math score? 81
What was your verbal score? 56
How did Magoosh help you?
Improving Math and Verbal with help of practice questions.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Apr 23, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Your product was fantastic because it allowed me to see the broad range of types of questions asked on the GMAT, and it showed me answers to questions I didn't answer correctly. In addition, it took the answers a step further and explained the steps needed to arrive at the correct answer. The written explanations and videos were also extremely helpful.
Thumbnails

Apr 13, 2013

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
I think it helped most in my pacing strategy, and the explanations and videos helped a lot. The best part, however, is that you can set the preferences for the practices to be adaptive, which helps you get in the GMAT zone.
Thumbnails

Apr 4, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 34
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? N/a
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? N/a
How did Magoosh help you?
I used the Magoosh videos and practice questions as my primary method of study. I found it very effective at summarizing key concepts and materials tested on the GMAT. The lessons were concise yet provided enough detail to understand the topic.

I only had 2.5 weeks to prepare and having been out of University for 7 years I was very rusty on the math concepts and theory. I fit my GMAT preparation in during lunch hours, evenings and weekends while balancing work.

I credit Magoosh for increasing my score by 110 points.
Thumbnails

Mar 11, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 39
What was your verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
I originally was drawn to Magoosh by the videos Magoosh has posted on Youtube. I found the explanations that were offered were very clear and easy to understand.
Thumbnails

Mar 5, 2013

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 640
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 33
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me get familiar with the sort of questions I could expect on the gmat. Having the topics explained in videos was really helpful.
Thumbnails

Mar 4, 2013

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 650
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Concepts were very well explained. The best part was how Magoosh tells you which lessons to refer to after attempting a question.
Thumbnails

Feb 21, 2013

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 610
What was your math score? 41
What was your verbal score? 34
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
In many ways, it provides structered contents of all subjects measured in the GMAT. And the video format of delivering them was really useful for me.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 31, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 620
What was your math score? 41
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped greatly in refamiliarizing myself with the math section. I did not get to use the product fully before my test date, but I'm certain my score would have been a lot higher. Videos are a great way to learn (better than what the competition offers).
Thumbnails

Jan 16, 2013

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 650
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 33
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
The math videos were outstanding. They offer a solid review of the basic concepts tested in the GMAT. I reviewed my notes several times a few days before the test. The interface looks cool and highly conductive for study. The problems offers excellent practice as well. Much of my prep time is devoted to the Medium and Hard Problems. If I had more time, I could have tackled the 'Very hard' problems.

The verbal also offers good practice especially for RC. Although I focused on Quant on much of my prep time, practicing on some RC Passages and doing a lot of CR questions a few days before the test did gave me a good warm up before I appeared for the actual test.

Cheers to the highly dependable Support Team as well.

Over-all, this product helped me a lot in my preparation for the GMAT. My score is perfectly fine for my pre-experience masters. I will definitely revisit this product once I decide to pursue an MBA in the future and decide to take the GMAT once more.
Thumbnails

Jan 1, 2013

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 650
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 34
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 34
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
I took the GMAT multiple times and could never get my quant score above 40 until I used Magoosh.