Skip to Main Content

Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Dec 23, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 770
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 46
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was definitely helpful, providing numerous additional practice questions together with a substantiated explanation of their answer.
Definitely a good complement to the OG.

Dec 22, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
I didn't know where to start, Magoosh gave me a road map to follow

Dec 22, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
A lot!

Dec 21, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
Fantastic math lessons really broke down the concepts and identified important test taking tips and strategies. Loved that there were video explanations for every question.

For context, Magoosh brought my score from an estimated 680 to an actual 750 in 1.5 weeks.

Dec 21, 2016

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Good video explanations on problem sets. Could focus on problem areas in specific math sections

Dec 20, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has been wonderful. I didnt have much of an idea about GMAT before I signed up for Magoosh. I read many reviews about Magoosh and also tried the 1 week free version of the product. Within 3 days I signed up for the full version. It was a great decision.
1) The lessons are very clear and teach concepts right from the basics.
2) All the lessons emphasize more on understanding the concepts then just learning equations or stuff, which really helps in over all learning.
3) The practice tests and questions are of good standard. There are enough number of questions to be prepared.
4) THE BEST PART OF MAGOOSH IS THE STUDENT HELP - you just cant beat it. Any doubt you have is cleared within a max of 48 hours. The explanations are detailed and clear. You are always encouraged to ask even the most minute doubt you have.
5) The blogs are also an excellent source of information. If you need to understand some concepts in even more detail, then these are really helpful
5) I used only the OG and Magoosh. I also relied on GMAT club to look for solutions for some problems from GMATPrep exam and OG. I was working full time, couldnt prepare completely and messed up a bit on the exam day. But still managed 720 (Q47, V41). That has been only because of God's grace and Magoosh.
6) The other good part is pricing. It is more on the affordable side. Most of the other preps are over priced. Also I didnt see Magoosh trying hard to prove that their product is better than every other product, unlike some others. There are even blogs where they refer to books of their competitors too. So overall you get the feeling that this is one product where they are equally concerned about the student too, then just their profits.
7) They also took some suggestions I had, for certain questions and modified them.
8) Places where the product could improve :
-More analytics,
-I had to increase the volume for a few lessons in Verbal
-A search box
None of these really affect you in a major way and there is a work around for all of those too.
9) There is lot more I could write. Also please note that I have used only Magoosh, so I wouldn't be able to compare it with any of their competitors. But if you are looking for an affordable guide to help you with preparations for the exam, this is one of the best places to start with, if not the best.

Dec 20, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a lot. I could easily review the areas that I felt weak at. The amount of material is amazing. I didn't have enough time to go through all of it, but if I had been able to study longer, then I'm sure I would've gotten a better score, especially in verbal.
I must say that, I did a mock exam 4 days before the actual gmat and my score was 650. Luckily, I recognized my main mistakes and was able to review the corresponding videos before taking the actual exam, I believe this was crucial for my final score.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Dec 20, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Well a lot. It helped a lot. But having to take it again in a month. I need a higher math score. I was scoring 49s past three weeks. I don't know what happened

Dec 19, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I only focused on studying for the quant section of the GMAT for my 2nd GMAT attempt. It is where I needed to improve the most. I watched all of the Magoosh math videos and worked through every math practice problem. It was a long and arduous process but I believe it really paid off. The math videos helped break down different techniques to solve complicated quant problems. I felt much more comfortable taking the GMAT quant section the second time around with the knowledge gained from the Magoosh math videos.

I also thought that the video explanations for each practice problem were invaluable. Compared to text explanations in other GMAT study materials (ex. GMAT Official Guide), the video explanations clearly showed me how to arrive at the correct answer using the same techniques that were taught in the math videos.

I would absolutely recommend Magoosh to anyone who needs help boosting their quant score. The fact that my scaled score jumped up 11 points in the quantitative section just from going through all the math videos and doing all of the practice problems is a testament to how effective Magoosh is really is. For the price as well, Magoosh can’t be beat.

Dec 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Flexible study plan with access to videos from anywhere!

Dec 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Really good study plan. Always stretching oneself to give the best in each study sesson.

Dec 16, 2016

Score Improvement: +1 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Great customer service... always incredibly prompt on responding to any questions.

"As an auditory/visual learner, Magoosh's video problem explanations were a major game changer."

^
l
l

Feel free to use and edit the above quote. It would be an honor to be quoted by you guys.

If you need me to write more or send in a photo, let me know and I'll take care of it.

Dec 14, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
video lessons and video explanations for questions. quiz mode practice set up

Dec 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is an amazing product. The 3 month advanced study guide kept me on track with my studying and gave me the confidence that I was doing everything in my power to be successful on the test. The lesson videos provided the theory behind the concepts so that I had a full understanding of each subject. I would recommend Magoosh to anyone taking the test. Thanks to Mike and the entire Magoosh team.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Dec 7, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was the main product I used for preparation. It's been a while since I graduated, so I chose a 3 months' plan for beginners. Daily instructions made it really easy to organize the process and stay on track - just what I needed. I relied almost solely on Magoosh materials, and rarely consulted any external sources (except forums and CAT). Thus I think this is a great plan for those who don't have tons of time for preparation, as all you need for a good score is there in a distilled form :) Excellent content for a great price.

Dec 7, 2016

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided an unbelievable platform to help me prepare for the exam. The questions (particularly the "Hard-Very Hard" quant questions) were much harder on Magoosh than the actual exam and the explanations were exceptional. When I originally started using Magoosh I was more focused on getting as many questions done versus taking full advantage of the explanations provided and the video resources. Additionally I followed the Magoosh "Advanced" study plan with a few modifications and it was incredibly helpful.

Dec 7, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped my math fundamentals

Dec 6, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I really liked the video explanations.

Dec 4, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided a good structure for a study program via the three month program. Additionally, Magoosh provided a pretty good and expansive set of practice questions.

Dec 4, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? Unk
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? Unk
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent and easy to access practice

Nov 25, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
I previously scored a 670 because I ran out of time. Magoosh helped me get better at time management and get done with questions in a quicker way. for verbal, Magoosh helped me get better at identifying errors and at eliminating wrong options with ease.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Nov 23, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Although I didn't follow it all three months, the math focused study plan was really helpful to focus me as I got started (I followed it through watching all the videos and then used Manhattan books my friend gave me to revisit the material--watching all the videos again was really daunting.) The math videos were incredibly clear and easy to understand, and I loved the way problems were interspersed in the explanations.

Nov 23, 2016

Score Improvement: +1 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
There was a 6 month gap between when I first took the GMAT and my second attempt. Magoosh helped my get back to my old level of maths competency from my first attempt and helped my get to the next level for my verbal, which was exactly what I was looking for.

Nov 22, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons are great, well explained and have precise content.