Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Double checks 120x120

Nov 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 33
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me understand my mistakes, improve my reflexes and pattern detecting skills, and helped me build some math sense.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Provided great, easily digestible instruction and structured practice.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 22, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 46
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Repetition of concepts and videos that could immediately correct mistakes.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 21, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
I used practice exercises a lot, explanations were detailed and really helpful
Double checks 120x120

Nov 20, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
Simple explanations but great contents.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 19, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 51
What was your verbal score? 33
How did Magoosh help you?
Tell me about many useful notions and tips.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I believe it helped with my timing. It's really easy to do quick problem sets. Customizing the type of questions you receive, you can make mini math sections of just 10 questions. I would take a break at work for 20 mins and just do a set. I would always time them so I wouldn't exceed my break time, and it forced me to work faster.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Raised my score. refined core concepts
Double checks 120x120

Nov 9, 2015

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh videos are crisp and informative.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 3, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 49
How did Magoosh help you?
Exceptional explanations. I don't think there are better explanations anywhere, and I have used Manhattan and Kaplan and GMAC extensively.

Accessibility to videos on my phone was super helpful. Would take walks and listen to Mike during lunch breaks and my commutes.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 3, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Review and learn basic concepts. Useful tricks. Practice a lot. And have fun (don't ask why but I found the videos amusing)
Double checks 120x120

Nov 3, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
The 30 day study plan was INTENSE, but helped me get a score HIGHER than what I was shooting for!
Double checks 120x120

Nov 1, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 45
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's videos really helped explain complex concepts in a simple way that I was having difficulty understanding via books. I couldn't afford a tutor or a GMAT course, but Magoosh was jut as good - better even.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 31, 2015

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 37
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 39
How did Magoosh help you?
Watching video lessons and doing practice questions was the primary way that I prepped. The one month study plan was also great for giving structure to my prep. I've already recommended to a few friends.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 30, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
You guys have been amazing...I have done well in GRE and done excellently in TOEFL only due to you...I wish however I prepared a bit more for the GMAT using your fantastic material...
Double checks 120x120

Oct 28, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Provide great videos
Double checks 120x120

Oct 27, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
The clock on each question was invaluable.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The math and grammar lessons are top notch. Learning all of the grammar rules helped not only my test score but also my job performance. What I love most about Magoosh's lessons is how they emphasize LEARNING the content and not just memorizing it. I was able to take the test with such confidence because I understood the material.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 26, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 45
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
Great review of all topics!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
It provided me a huge database. Also, the videos were really helpful, especially for some topics I did not master
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 47
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 31
How did Magoosh help you?
Really helpful from videos!

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 34
How did Magoosh help you?
The usefulness of magoosh stems from its superb learning platform: quality of questions,coupled with superb explanations, makes plugging prep loopholes that much more effective.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 21, 2015

Score Improvement: +25 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 39
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 29
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 33
How did Magoosh help you?
This one goes out to all those struggling with the hope of turning their scores from abysmal to top notch.

I started with a practice test score of 560. Then I took a Veritas program, but wasn't able to commit myself fully to it, and really wasted a lot of money by not doing so. From this I learned the hard way that slow and steady is not the way to beat the GMAT.

Then I started with Magoosh, and took a practice test again, and scored a 520... After that I got intense, put my social life completely on hold, and committed myself only to my job and my GMAT studies for 4 months. Magoosh proved to be an extraordinary study resource that is unique because of the huge amount of practice questions it has with excellent explanations of the answers. My strategy was to focus on all the ones I got incorrect (especially for Quant) as many times as it took until the lessons behind all 500 math problems correct.

While some people may prefer classroom settings with instructors, Magoosh has the key advantage of offering short and concise video lessons that allow you to re-enforce challenging ideas as many times as needed.

Back to my story now, I took the GMAT in mid-September, and scored a 560 again, which I was very disappointed with and cancelled my score. Just prior to that I was scoring around a 600 on practice tests, and so I decided to keep at it, and took 4 more practice tests that were around 600, except for the one I took 2 days before my official retest, and on that I scored a 550...

So then I took the official test a 2nd time in mid-October just praying not to get a completely awful score, and then I scored a 710...

I'll be honest, I haven't the slightest clue how on Earth I went from a 550 to a 710 in two days, but I guess I beat the GMAT. Magoosh definitely deserves props for being a key to that success, but for those people who don't think they have a shot at a top notch score, don't lose hope!!!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Continually doing problems helped me see the test as a puzzle and not just problems. Puzzles have tricks and clear processes to solve them.