Skip to Main Content

Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GMAT.

You can find more stories about Magoosh here (on the GMAT Club forum).


Oct 24, 2016

Score Improvement: +2 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 44
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
I studied for the GMAT by myself, only doing exercises from the Official Guide. I took the GMAT one time and got a 680, but was aiming at 700+. I decided to take it again, focusing on improving my Quant score, and maintaining my Verbal score. The fact that you can take so many new questions, decide in which topics to focus, and have adaptive difficulty as you go was extremely helpful. I got to focus on what I needed to improve the most, learning from great video explanations after every question. I just took the GMAT again, after a month of working with Magoosh, and got to improve my Quant score, while maintaining my already good Verbal score. I got a 700, and really recommend Magoosh to those who don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on GMAT prep, while still getting great quality on the questions, and prep tests. I recommend Magoosh to people who have already started studying, and need more practice.

Oct 24, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Video walkthrough on tougher math problems was helpful. Also Magoosh's explanation of Combinations was much more helpful than anything I had seen before. Idiom flash cards are also extremely helpful

Oct 23, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 740
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Videos were awesome. Helped me learn to lay out the problem and catch mistakes. Liked being able to focus on certain types of questions and start easy and work my way up.

Oct 23, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 46
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The flashcards were a huge help on a days before the exam.The study plans are well thought out and kept me motivated throughout. Mike's lessons were amazing. Even when I was practising questions from other sources, I could hear him in my head pointing out flaws and wrong answer choices????. The AWA lesson videos were great too. The grammar lessons for sentence correction really helped improve my ability to spot and eliminate the wrong answer choices faster.

Oct 22, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
I felt like the prep really helped--loved the videos, the test taking tips, and the suggested schedule.

Oct 20, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Math basics such as doubling and halving were great. The videos presented an excellent basis for solving algebraicly, where other providers stressed picking numbers early on in the lessons. This was helpful for me because I have always been strong in math and preferred the fundamental approach.

Sentence correction videos were very helpful, but i feel there could have been more about higher end questions where all answers are very different (maybe strategy).

I liked the analysis in the rc videos but would have rather had different passages in different videos.

I loved having the video explanations after videos, this is 100% the reason I chose to use Magoosh as my primary prep material. Hearing someone talk through an explanation is a great feature

Oct 16, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 44
What was your verbal score? 41
How did Magoosh help you?
It help me set up expectations for myself and the study schedule helped me frame how I would proceed in studying. I was able to engage in mindful practice in the subject matter and was able to pace things my own way.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Oct 14, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 750
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
I knew nothing about the GMAT before logging onto Magoosh. I took the GMAT Prep practice test and miraculously did well so decided to schedule test for about 1 month out. I knew I could do well on math so I wanted to get good there quickly. I managed to get 50s and 51s in a week or so of practice working through problems with Magoosh.

Then I started practicing verbal in pieces (while mixing in math questions) and first did critical reasoning, then sentence correction, then reading comprehension. The sentence correction videos especially were very helpful to learn the structure of the questions quickly.

Oct 14, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Mike and the team made everything very easy to understand. I took two different classes and supplemented with Magoosh. In the end, Magoosh was a better value and the ultimate reason I cleared 700.

Oct 13, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
Great question bank. The videos are a great tool, specially for sentence correction and algebra.

Oct 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Excellent material and video lessons helped me with the basic concepts and improved my approach to solving questions.. I have suggested Magoosh to all my friends who are appearing for GMAT.

Oct 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 760
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 47
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh made me very well acquainted with the structure of the test, the questions I was likely to see, and the importance of timing. The material was great to review.

Oct 11, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? I do not remember
What was your verbal score? I do not remember
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? I do not remember
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? I do not remember
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh boasted my verbal score and writing score. I never get more that 3.0 in writing from both GMAT and GRE.

Oct 10, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 36
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 50
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Tips and question review for the verbal section

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Oct 10, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh in general and Mike McGarry in particular enabled me to prepare for the GMAT in about 6 weeks. I believe that Magoosh is probably one of the best tools available for those who wish to prepare for the GMAT exam in a relatively short amount of time. I would go as far as to claim that the lessons learned in Magoosh will help you not only to prepare for the exam, but also to develop your intellectual capacity at work and in life.

Oct 7, 2016

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 49
What was your verbal score? 35
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 30
How did Magoosh help you?
Grammar lectures are excellent. These lectures helped me alot

Oct 6, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700+4+AWA unknown
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 33
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 45
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
1.help me practice my space 2. Very specific explanation 3. Connection between Magoosh experts and their concrete explication of each quetion I have 4.statistic data of the student's pace and correct-mistake 5. practice can be processed according to your multiple choices .6. Thoughtful Magoosh staff help me familiarize with GMAT

Oct 4, 2016

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 730
What was your math score? 50
What was your verbal score? 38
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous math score? 48
If you took the GMAT before, what was your previous verbal score? 36
How did Magoosh help you?
I had took the Magoosh Quant & Verbal Course, and was mostly interested in Data Sufficiency, and Sentence Correction.
The Sentence Correction lessons were very helpful. Since, the SC questions had video explanations, it was very helpful in learning the correct approach to solve the questions.

The DS question bank is great.

Oct 2, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 42
What was your verbal score? 44
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions and explanations were extremely helpful.

Oct 1, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 720
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 42
How did Magoosh help you?
Magus gave me valuable tips not only on how to approach the test but also things that did not even cross my mind. The study videos were a great help especially for the quant section.

Sep 29, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 47
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations were so helpful when learning how to execute strategies. The course was way better than the Kaplan course I made the mistake of signing up for.

Start your GMAT prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Sep 28, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
Before Magoosh, I was pretty clueless how to go about studying for the GMAT. I had the resources, the books and was singed up on the forums. But Magoosh helped to clearly structure my study schedule. It helped me drill down on areas that I was particularly weak in.

Sep 27, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 710
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 40
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons were all great, and they reaffirmed my feeling that an in-person prep course was not necessary for me, but what I liked most were the detailed video explanations to each practice question. I reviewed these in detail, for both questions I got right and wrong, to learn tips and shortcuts to the problems and I think this is what really paid dividends.

Sep 27, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GMAT? 700
What was your math score? 48
What was your verbal score? 38
How did Magoosh help you?
The very first thing i did after getting Magoosh was to follow the 3 month study schedule. The content in magoosh become more edible when the study schedule is followed. The content is great especially the Quant section . It gave me lots of practice and the feature to revise the mistakes and questions which took too long is really great.